We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Handle Crowds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Hotel Restaurant

Manor House Hotel Restaurant
Market Square, England
01289 389207
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't Handle Crowds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went in for lunch on a Bank Holiday Monday when the island was crowded. Told no more food orders for 5 minutes because the kitchen was backed up. After 15 minutes and still not taking orders we gave up and left.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    6
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over priced and too eager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I each ordered a crab sandwhich for lunch and was told it was ALL ingredients were locally sourced. The crab maybe but the bread?? Two slices of supermarket loaf each with a sprinkle of salad and all for £5.95!
The crab was very good but the bread really let it down . Perhaps consider a different type of bread ?
Two sandwiches , half a lager and a pint of local ale came to £16...
My wife was still eating when the waitress took her plate... I appreciate it was a busy lunchtime but please wait until the person has finished before tidying up !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your second review, although we are surprised that trip advisor have allowed you to repost it as it was previously removed by them due to you posting two reviews relating to one visit.

Although we see your rating has now gone up from 1 out of 5 to 3 out of 5 and so we assume on reflection we must have done something right especially as in your other review you claim to have come back the same day to try to book a table for dinner.

We're sorry to hear you found it too expensive, unfortunately fresh crab is very expensive, in fact several establishments within Northumberland charge more than this and we do try to keep prices as low as possible as we do our drink prices which are in fact very competitive.

As for being told that ALL ingredients are sourced locally, we are not sure who would have told you this as it is not something we claim, however we do try to source as much local fresh produce as possible, such as our Holy Island crab.

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the bread although we would like to assure you that we don't buy it from a supermarket and it's not something we've previously had complaints about, neither have we had complaints about plates been taken away whilst still eating so apologies that you felt you experienced this.

Thanks again

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caistor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't expect much at lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This review is purely based upon catering only. On first impressions, the manor house was nicely situated on the bay with a good view, large beer garden and good wheelchair access. the inside was clean and tidy, as were the toilet facilities. Everything was fine until we ordered our lunch, which was well overpriced for some sandwiches. Baring in mind that it was fairly busy, we just about excused the fact that our food arrived extremely late, but what we did not excuse was the lack of any warning from the staff. When our food arrived, the order was mixed up, so we had to wait an extra 5 minutes for the other half of our order to be made properly and. We left rather unhappy. I would have given 1 star however the establishment was nice and clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to the Manor House, although we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your lunch with us.

On a positive note it's great to hear that you found the hotel and bar nice and clean although we are so disappointed to read that you had such a negative experience during your meal.

We are sorry that your food arrived late and that there was also a mix up, as you say we do get busy, especially during the summer months, but this is no excuse and we are not sure why your food order was delayed, as this doesn't normally happen, and why you were not informed about this, so we have now spoken to staff members to ensure this does not happen again.

We really hope you will consider returning so we are able to provide you with a positive experience and please accept our apologies.

Thanks

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a wonderful setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I returned to this hotel, having been to it many times as a child over 20 years ago. It has had a total makeover a couple of years ago which means it appears slightly sterile and polished which may not be to everybodys taste, though the food was FANTASTIC. I only tend to review on tripadvisor when I feel strongly about a place - and this is one of thosr times. The service was professional and fast, and the real ale was pretty good too. Recommended for families and foodies alike.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it especially as you mention that you only tend to leave a review when you feel strongly about a place, so thank you as we consider this such a compliment!

It's brilliant to hear that you found the food fantastic and the service professional and fast, we really hope to see you again soon and that you don't have to wait another 20 years!

Thanks

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Turned away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited Lindisfarne last week for the day, my wife and I intended to eat on one of the pubs on the island. At around 4pm Inwalked onto the manor house hotel bar ( dressed in a t- shirt, walking trousers and walking sandals- to make the most of the glorious weather ). On entering the public bar I was " looked up and down " by the bar man who I asked of they had a table free for two in their dining room that evening....I was immediately told no they were full. . A short time later, approx 30 mins my wife decided to try this establishment again...she went in alone andcwasvtold yes they had a table free....Now call me cynical...but she was smartly dressed....and I may have looked untidy but not scruffy....buts they now had a table free ????!!! I have never experienced this before....We didnt dine at the manor but decided to go and have a fantastic meal in Waren Ford instead....

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving another review of your recent experience at the Manor House, the other being removed by trip advisor and now you have reposted it.

Considering how bad you claim your experience was at lunch, rating us 1 out of 5 and then on reposting 3 out of 5, we are actually rather surprised that you claim to have come back that same day to try and book a table for dinner.

As for this review we are so sorry that you believe you were told there were no tables available due to how you were dressed. Although let us assure you that this would not have been the case, being based on Holy Island, where most people come to explore the beautiful surroundings, a lot of our guests dress casually and this has never been an issue.

During the summer we are often fully booked and so unfortunately we are unable to accommodate everyone all the time which is probably why we were unable to offer you a table on this occasion.

Furthermore as your review suggests that you specifically asked to eat in the dining room, which generally gets booked up first, when your wife came in we may have said we could seat you in the bar area or we may have had a cancellation. So once again we just want to reassure you that your clothing had nothing to do with it and we are sorry that the 'look' the barman gave you led you to believe this.

Thank you

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Holy Island, Northumberland
 
Holy Island, Northumberland
Holy Island, Northumberland
 

Been to Manor House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.