We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The BeanGoose Restaurant

The BeanGoose Restaurant
Market Square | Market Square, TD15 2RX, England
+44 (0)1289 389083
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The BeanGoose Restaurant is situated in the village of Holy Island, next to Lindisfarne Priory and Museum. Open during the summer months, from May until the end of October, we serve freshly prepared evening meals using the best local produce to be found in North Northumberland.Our commitment to quality food and to environmental sustainability has been rewarded with gold awards from the Green Tourism Business scheme and from the North Northumberland local food awards.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked for my husbands 60th birthday, from confirmation of booking Lesley was wonderful. We were sent a sample menu as there was 11 of us in the party so this abled us to pre-order the mains to save time on the evening. On arrival we were shown to a private dining room which more than met our expectations. Starters were quickly chosen and arrived on our table within 30 minutes, we nearly all ordered something different but all the food was delivered to our table at the same time and was fantastic quality - best goats cheese starter I have ever had. Our main courses were of the same high standard, we nearly all went for fish but the steak eaters were also delighted with their choice.
All the food was great but what really made the restaurant special was how well we were looked after by the staff, we have all agreed to have another weekend at Holy Island just so we can eat at the BeanGoose again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    23
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Distinct from the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was a real treat. The menu was reassuringly short, each item being beautifully prepared. Catch of the day was lemon sole veronique served with fresh veg, cooked to perfection. The dining areas were simply furnished, with bare wood floors and furniture. Nothing lavish. Service was friendly and helpful. It's not the cheapest, but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Worth going to the island for a meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

BeanGoose is tucked away on Holy Island. While it would be easy to overcharge for average food to a captive audience, BeanGoose have gone to the other extreme - great food with innovative twists at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food in relaxed surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

There's no better place to eat on Lindisfarne - friendly, attentive staff, cosy surroundings and superb,locally-sourced food. We ate there on two consecutive nights and each time was great. The only drawback is that it is closed from November to May - so make sure, if you want to avoid scampi and chips, you visit when the Bean Goose is open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A cut above the other eating places on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautifully cooked and presented fresh, seasonal food.
Dining rooms are small and well presented, staff are friendly and welcoming.
The menu is quite small, but the quality of the ingredients and cooking shines through. Not a hint of a microwave and certainly not reliant on deep fat fryers.
Pretty much faultless.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The BeanGoose Restaurant also viewed

Holy Island, Northumberland
 
Holy Island, Northumberland
Holy Island, Northumberland
 

Been to The BeanGoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BeanGoose Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.