We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, unpretentious and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming, unpretentious and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked in for one night as we had driven up from the South and were due in Edinburgh the next morning. We had found the hotel on line and booked direct. Our (upgraded) bedroom was the size of a tennis court, with a large and comfortable bed and the softest pillows I have ever found in an hotel. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was even better. We did not have our dogs with us but clearly they would have been welcome. The staff were all charming and helpful and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no lift so disabled guests should ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
111
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Classic Victorian country house, with grand entrance hall, staircase and giant stained glass window making for an impressive arrival. Friendly and helpful staff. State rooms off the balcony and most others on top floor, but our last minute booking placed us in one of the two "garden rooms" in the (former laundry) annexe about 40 metres walk from the main building. The room was large and comfortably furnished with a well equipped modern bathroom, so only lacking a view. Did not dine, but the breakfast was cooked to order and excellent quality (e.g. Eyemouth kippers as a hot option were top notch) and as much of everything else as you could eat. Grounds included pleasant gardens and a riverside walk for the more energetically inclined (down a steepish bank).

Room Tip: If you want to splash out, go for a state room off the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a beautifully situated old fashioned country house hotel. Approached by a long driveway the building and grounds are really lovely. Booked by phone and Elaine explained the features of all the rooms, which are very individual. We settled on one of the "state rooms", room 4 "Tillside". The room was large and nicely furnished, with a 6ft wide four poster, two armchairs, a chaise longue and attractive old wooden wardrobe, dressing table etc. There were 3 large windows overlooking the gardens and a pleasant en suite bathroom.
Best bits
Lovely room, quiet, lovely views. Very good dinner. Beautiful setting.
Worst bits
Despite the quietness, we slept really badly. The mattress was thin and felt old. Small old TV seemed lost in the room - needs a 40in flat screen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I have just stayed at this fantastic country house. Very relaxing and not stuffy. The management and staff were attentative but not over powering. The food was excellent the trio of game was cooked perfectly. I tried the Lebanon Chateau Musar. It was the perfect partner for the dish and at a very good price. In my opinion this is a very special building with very dedicated operators.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you are looking for traditional Northumberland comfort and outstanding food, this Hotel - with the longest woodland drive I have ever seen, is worth visiting. It has all the splendor of a bygone era,with an impressive Oak staircase and public rooms, plus the restaraunt still has silver service, but the menu is right up to date with interesting dishes. The wine list is not that comprehensive, but well chosen, without being to expensive, a must visit for anybody who appreciates quality and service. Brian from Suffolk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snaith
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and myself stayed in this hotel for a few nights at the beginning of July as we wanted a weekend break for my husbands birthday. I looked online for last minute offers on Booking.com etc but the best price was on the hotel site itself. I rang to book but was told the £99 per night was no longer available I would have an extra £50 per night to have a state room. I then booked with another company for £120 per night. When we arrived we had been allocated a state room anyway which I think must have been the best in the hotel, four poster bed, three piece suit, dressing table in the main area and a lovely large bathroom, it made you feel you were back in victorian times. The rooms are spotless and the veiws breathtaking. The only negative is I would have liked a modern tv not the small old tv that was lost and out of place in the lovely room. The staff were very friendly and chatty in both reception and in the dining room, the lady in charge of the dining room was fantastic, friendly, informative about the menu and also knew the area well and was able to suggest places to visit. There is plenty of parking in the massive drive and also the grounds are lovely. I will definataly visit this hotel again given half the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, traditional country hotel. Menu lacking inspiration and seemed a little dated which was a shame because the food was all excellent. All about 'locally sourced, good quality'. With the range available something a little more exciting/different would have been good.

Service was very friendly and attentive. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Address: Cornhill on Tweed TD12 4UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill on Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cornhill on Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alnwick
Tillmouth Park Country Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel Cornhill On Tweed, England - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.