We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept us coming back again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meadow House

The Meadow House
North Road | Northumberland, Berwick upon Tweed, England
01289304173
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Meadow House is an unusual pub by today's standards. No chrome, tv's, leather, little lights in the floor or pictures that look like someone threw the paint at the canvas blindfolded!To sum it up, we are a family run, unpretentious rural country pub, that aims to provide great quality home cooked food and service at a fair price; that's it!Since the early days of the A1 highway we have regularly been known as 'The First and Last Pub in England' as the Scottish Border is only a mile away.Our main emphasis is our food. Over the last 30 years we have built up a great reputation for serving only the finest quality fresh local produce from all around the borders, and lots of it!We are lucky to have great team of staff that are as interested in the business as we are. Our enthusiastic head chef Adam Bettison is relentless in his quest for ever improving our food. With help from David Hearn, the owner and chef, who was trained at Michelin starred Winteringham Fields the service is well above average for a country pub. We are locally renowned for are homemade desserts made by Edith Hearn, the proprietor and chef. For 30 years her homemade ice creams, meringues and more have tantalized the taste buds of people all over the world!The restaurant & bar are stuck in the past, with their unique decor that is farming and game orientated, and some could argue the menu; with classics like prawn cocktail, whitebait, steak and kidney pie and fish and chips is also very traditional, but why should we change? After all its food like this that help build this country!We are wheelchair friendly being on one level, and due to be being able to seat 100 we can cater for large parties including weddings & funerals. Our large car park means parking is not a problem. We are very family orientated and we can adapt for any dietary needs, allergies or dislikes, just let us know!We look forward to seeing you,David, Edith & all the Team.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kept us coming back again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We called in on the first day of our holiday and ended up returning every tea time!
There was a good selection on the menu of mains and deserts, the staff were very friendly and made us very welcome. Well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    160
    51
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had lunch here on our way to Aberdeen. The food was excellent. A good choice of dishes for starters, mains and deserts. The smoked haddock fishcakes with a lemon mayonnaise was delicious, as was my husbands whitebait. We both opted for the chicken curry which we have had here before. The desert of homemade hazelnut ice cream with espresso was exceptional. The service was prompt and attentive without being intrusive and we did not feel rushed. The facilities were clean and well cared for with ample parking. We always stop here on our way to Scotland and have always found the food and service to be excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A menu for everyone's taste buds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dined here early July, and was really surprised at the vast menu which caters for everyone's taste buds and people on special diets. Staff was bright smiles from start and throughout our meal, deserts were absolutely amazing, especially the cherry merengue, would definitely recommend, and will soon be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick on Tweed, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Food , Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After a last minute decision to head for a late lunch we ended up at Meadow House. This is not the first time we have eaten at this restaurant,but can honestly say we couldn't fault anything, from the service when you walk in, to when you leave, The staff are very friendly,polite and have always got a smile on there face no matter how busy they are. And as for the food its FIRST CLASS. They cater for every need and we have never had a bad meal. We will definitely be heading back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“truly appaling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stopped for a little bite on our journey back home from Edinburgh.overwhelming smell of cheap toilet cleaner throughout the restaurant a real appetite killer.Food quality was dreadful,please change oil for frying chips etc it must be a health hazzard!!!tasted as if had been used for much too long without changing. .sandwiches really bad quality.a real waste of money.wish we had not stopped here and had found a place a little further down the A1..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meadow House also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Meadow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meadow House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.