We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alannah House

Alannah House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alannah House
Save
You added Alannah House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   84 Church Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Denby Dale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

An excellent size room with all the facilities you could ask for, and delightful extras. Very friendly owners. A beautiful back garden is a hidden gem. The breakfast was wonderful. Berwick itself is a wonderful historic town and a great centre for investigating the area... we will be back.

Room Tip: We had room number one, which was a very good size but were told it was the smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
A positive review thank you. We appreciate the front of our house can be deceiving in it does not suggest the size once you're in, someone once referred to it as a 'Tardis'. The garden is available for guests to use at anytime and we're pleased you enjoyed it.
Berwick itself is full of history and has a 'bloody' past during the wars between England and Scotland thankfully that is in the past and we feel that we are perfectly located for people who want to explore north Northumberland and the Scottish Borders.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This one night break was a late Christmas present for my husband and myself from my mother so I had nothing to do with the booking and didn't know what to expect. Although we 'pulled the short straw' and got the smallest room on the top floor without its own en-suite shower, I couldn't fault the accommodation. The room was lovely, the breakfast brilliant and the hosts Lynne and Steve welcoming and helpful. We would definitely hope to return and would recommend Alannah House recommend to anyone planning a trip to Berwick.

Room Tip: My brother and his wife had room 3, which looked palatial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for the review. It was unfortunate that someone had to have the non en-suite room but we do work hard at keeping all the rooms in pristine condition. Anyone booking with us will be made clearly aware if the only available room is the non en-suite one so they can make an informed decision whether to stay with us or not. Thanks again, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again soon. Lynn & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were here at the same time as the 3 blokes and they have 'stolen' our review. We also found perfection, and cleanliness, and comfort, and friendliness, and warmth, and a mouth watering breakfast - you name it and it was there to be enjoyed. This applied to every aspect of our stay. Apart from all the features you might expect, there was also an iron and ironing board, a hair dryer next to the mirror, which doesn't always happen! Even the tissues came up through the chimney of a cute little (model) cottage.
Nothing was too much trouble at Alannah House, so take the trouble to book in and find out that the 3 blokes and I are telling the truth about this amazing B.and B.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We (3 blokes) were booked into the Alannah as part of a walking holiday and our last B&B. Lynn, supported by Steve, is running a perfect business. Having stayed at 5 other places during the week this was one of the best.
Firstly the place is spotless. Rooms are large and airy with comfortable beds and the bathroom was perfect in every way. Each room includes bath robes, hair dryer, shower gel and shampoo and just about every item one would normally find in a first class hotel.
Lynn has enormous energy, is so enthusiastic and has an infectious personality. Steve comes over as a reluctant host but has a great sense of humour and is a good foil for Lynn.
Breakfast was brilliant with a comprehensive choice. They both had time to chat, pass on their local knowledge and showed interest in us (so many B&B owners go into delivery mode).
If you are looking for perfect hosts, spotless and comfortable accommodation, a perfect breakfast not far from the sites of Berwick-upon-Tween, this has to be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed with Lynn and Steve and definitely not the last time. Hospitality is second to none and every need seems to have been thoughtfully considered. Comfort and cleanliness top notch, Breakfast lasts you all day so there is no need to stop enjoying this beautiful part of the country.
Good luck Steve with the charity bike ride.
Your Viking visitor.

Room Tip: The rooms go from excellent to superb, it is not a noisy street so no preference as to room location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you are in this area, don't miss the opportunity to stay at this wonderful B&B where the hosts, Lynn and Steve will make you really welcome. They are also excellent advisors for the local area! The rooms are airy and very comfortable, lacking nothing in equipment, whilst the breakfasts are truly superb! Relaxing in Lynn's beautiful garden is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Allanah house is a lovelly house in a fine town.
Lynn and Steve wer excellent host's who are happy to go the extra mile to ensure your stay is as good as can be.
The room was spacious, well appointed and comfortable.
Breakfast was plentifull, with lots of choice and well cooked.
would recommend tis B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alannah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alannah House

Address: 84 Church Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Class:4 star — Alannah House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 star silver award grading in cyclists and walkers welcome schemes. A Georgian house set within the historic town walls, beautiful garden and patio area. All rooms en-suite and tastefully decorated with central heating, tea coffee making facilities, freeview colour TV. Free parking permits available for on street parking. Within easy reach of town centre, beaches, places of historic interest, golf, fishing etc. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alannah House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.