We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in a charming town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alannah House

Alannah House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alannah House
Save
You added Alannah House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   84 Church Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a gem in a charming town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This bed and breakfast place on Church Street was so unassuming from the street but once you are inside, the loveliness and charm takes over. The proprietors were so hospitable, the room was amazingly clean and comfortable. And the price was so very reasonable. Breakfast was so generous and delectable. Do not miss this town and search this wonderful B&B out. You won't be disappointed... Guaranteed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Thank you Lynn and Steve for a lovely few days at Alannah House. The room was spacious (wish our bedroom at home was a big) and spotlessly clean. Lynn has thought of everything in the rooms right down to a sewing kit, an umberella and a shoe shine as well as the usual things you might need.Massive choice of breakfast items that keeps you going all day and a couple of wine glasses and opener if you fancy a wine in the evening. A beautiful garden that you are welcome to sit out in when the weather allows. Although weather mixed during our stay we really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back. Thanks again from Maggie and David Deakin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rooms large and well appointed, food good quality and wholesome,welcome homely and warm.Plenty of local parking easy access in and out of town.We looked forward to visiting Berwick again in May 2013 but Vivian & Rocky had retired but they highly recommended Lynn & Steve's Alannah House we were not disappointed. Liked the shower room the massive bed and the comfortable armchairs so we are getting the same for our home.Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Because we had to change the date of our visit my friend and I were given the family suite; adjoining rooms with shared bathroom. Over the phone Lynne did not make it sound very attractive but it would save us a little money on two single occupancy rooms. In the event, far from being in a garret, it was on the first floor, beautifully furnished and decorated and absolutely perfect.
Breakfast was as good as ever.
...... Sadly my cycling exploits in that part of the world are complete and so I will be short of reasons to return.
Lynn and Steve, thank you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again but am saddened that you won't be coming back, maybe come by train instead of cycle? Our family room is an ideal alternative to two single rooms, one large room with a double and single bed in and a smaller side room with a single bed and the shared en-suite facilities. The two parts are separated by a door and each part has it's own digital TV. Thanks for the glowing comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Traveled to Berwick during February with some friends to watch a sporting event and decided to stay overnight.
What a good decision to pre - book the Alannah House, Our room was large comfortable warm and welcoming.
Our Hosts were very friendly and informative and the breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent.
I will certainly book again, hopefully later this year when I visit Berwick with my wife for a long weekend. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First trip to Berwick and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay for our 2 nights. Stayed in family room (room 3) which comprises very good size room with double and single bed plus an adjoining room with single bed and en-suite, so ideal for family of 4. Both rooms had tv and selection of games. Very clean and comfortable accomodation, great breakfast and friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 on first floor has adjoining room with ensuite so ideal for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
A lovely comment thank you. Bedroom 3 is our family room so as stated is suitable for a family of 4, we also have a cot which can be used. The room is divided in two with the en-suite situated in the smaller part so we have found that this room is also suitable for persons who may normally want two single rooms. Thanks again for the kind comments we do try to serve our customers as we would like to be served when we get the chance to go away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Typical drab Berwick on outside but first rate once past the front door! It just fitted my requirements and I intend to return shortly. Clean comfortable large room. I agree with the other recent reviews.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alannah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alannah House

Address: 84 Church Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Class:4 star — Alannah House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 star silver award grading in cyclists and walkers welcome schemes. A Georgian house set within the historic town walls, beautiful garden and patio area. All rooms en-suite and tastefully decorated with central heating, tea coffee making facilities, freeview colour TV. Free parking permits available for on street parking. Within easy reach of town centre, beaches, places of historic interest, golf, fishing etc. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alannah House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.