We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Vicarage Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Vicarage Guest House
Save
You added Old Vicarage Guest House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Church Road | Tweedmouth, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2AN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Heybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. beginning with the welcome from our hosts Ruth and Maurice, together with home make cake, to the wonderful room, with it's comfy easy chairs, huge bed, very well appointed en suite and all with enough room to swing more than one cat there is not much more to say on that point accept the it was all extremely clean. The great choice breakfasts where beautifully cooked using great local products and if you have never tried porridge this is the place to do it. Ruth and Maurice are both very welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. A place well worth staying.

Room Tip: All rooms seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi - so glad we have another 'convert' to our wonderful Vicar's Porridge. We are also glad that you appreciated our lovely large superior rooms. We know from experience that all too often beautiful Victorian houses, like the Old Vicarage, can often be destroyed when owners divide rooms in half in an attempt to be have higher occupancy levels. Here, at The Old Vic we love the traditional space offered by our beautiful rooms and it is so nice to know that you do too. Thank you - Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
137
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and me were travelling from Glasglow to the Berwick upon Tweed at Aug 2010, and we were with the Old Vicarage Guest House for one night.

Good things:
1) Ample guest room: we were given a twin room with ample space and nicely decorated. the room was very clean & comfortable.
2) The main building is slightly above street level and facing to a cemetery (which we felt fine..) It locates at an inner street therefore it was so quiet at night. The sleeping quality was good.
3) Nice breakfast

Bad thing: None

We'll recommand this guest house to all traveller who pass by the region.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments on you time here with us at The Old Vicarage. It means alot to us when guests take the time to give us feedback. Kindest regards Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in August while visiting the Berwick area for the first time. A great choice, the room was excellent clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom, we even had a terrace with garden furniture to ourselves. The food was excellent very high quality produce used by our friendly hosts Maurice and Ruth. Would stay here again if we come back to Berwick

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your first time in this beautiful part of Northumberland and also that you particularly enjoyed staying here at The Old Vicarage. Hope you may return again to explore the area further and hopefully the weather will be kind enough to allow you to sit and relax on our roof terrace. Best wishes Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Old Vicarage was excellent. The rooms are to a very high standard, spacious, comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was excellent and a good choice was offered. Unfortunately we were only staying two nights so it was a short visit but we would definitely go back. Ruth and Maurice were very friendly, welcoming and helpful - just pity about the bad weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We look forward to your return visit. Thank you for your lovely comments. We will see what we can do about the weather !! Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Berwick and the area. Lovely building, opposite one of Berwick's historic churches. Only 10 minutes walk from the town centre across the old bridge. And 5 minutes walk the other way and you are on the beach.

Food was marvellous, with breakfasts to die for and a delicious 3 course dinner on one evening. The have a 'drawing room' for guest to use as a lounge, with a complimentary glass of sherry and an honesty bar with other drinks.

My room was small, but it was their only single I think, and was perfect for my purposes (there was only one of me!). It had all the facilities you would expect, though as the wi-fi didn't work in my room, it was one of two black spots in the house, I simply took my laptop down to the drawing room. Tea and coffee/kettle as usual, but they'd provided a fridge on the landing with fresh milk and an honesty box for other drinks & snacks.

Parking for 5 vehicles on site, though the road outside was wide and unrestricted if you needed more room. NB the drive up to the house is steep and you may need to turn the car around to get the right angle of approach. My satnav took right to the house without any problems.

Finally, the owners, Ruth & Maurice, were very friendly and provided great advice and consummate service. And I got to stroke Finlay the cat!

Overall, I can heartily recommend this as an excellent place to stay if you are visiting Berwick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Old Vicarage and also as a single traveller you found all the same facilities you required. As you note, we just have the one single room which is very popular with many guests who enjoy this beautiful part of Northumberland. Kind regards Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The food was good and service was friendly but we did feel we were in a strangers home. Asked Ruth not to clean the room as our stay was short,however,it was done and toiletries were moved.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your review which unfortunately we find full of contradictions: 'friendly' yet 'strangers'; food and service 'good' yet 'value poor'; cleanliness a 5 yet we should not have cleaned your room! It is worth noting, whilst cleaning, it is our policy that our staff would only move personal effects, such as make-up, if they are in danger of spilling or on an inappropriate surface. We pride ourselves in responding to any concerns that guests may have immediately, so we regret you did not raise your concern with us at the time. Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Splendid old building opposite the church and graveyard. Nice old black cat was very friendly. Breakfast was superb ... and the sausages are extra special.

No problem with parking two cars. Berwick has its own charm as do Tweedmouth and Spittal. All three places are worth a wander. Handy for Lindisfarne and the very nice ports of Eyemouth and St Abbs.

Only negative point was the SaniFlo kicking in every hour (or so) through the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gran2be, Owner at Old Vicarage Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay here at The Old Vic. You were right we did discover something rather un-savoury in the saniflow, causing it to be nosier than normal, so thanks for letting us know ! So glad the you loved this beautiful part of North Northumberland and do hope you return soon. Best wishes Ruth and Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Vicarage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vicarage Guest House

Address: 24 Church Road | Tweedmouth, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Vicarage Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a beautiful Victorian house with many original features, offering a quiet location and a real sense of luxury. All of our guest rooms are individually furnished to a high standard Guests enjoy beautifully cooked quality local produce during breakfasts, afternoon teas and evening meals. Maurice, Ruth and Finlay, the cat will ensure you have an excellent visit to this wonderful part of North Northumberland. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Vicarage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.