We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do if you are visiting Berwick upon Tweed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall and Town Gaol Berwick upon Tweed

Town Hall and Town Gaol Berwick upon Tweed
Marygate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1BN, England
01289 330900
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sawbridgeworth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must do if you are visiting Berwick upon Tweed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I rate this as the number one attraction in Berwick. A fascinating tour of the Town Hall with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. There was so much more to the tour than my wife and I had been expecting. There are 2 tours per weekday and it is worth making sure that you fit in a tour during your stay in Berwick. As I said to the guide at the end of the tour "That was the best value £2 I have spent in a long time."

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value and extremely interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

For £2 you can spend an hour learning the history of Berwick and actually touch and see exhibits only on Monday - Friday 11 am and 2 pm. Enter the side door and go upstairs. Don't miss it. The old cells had to be the highlight

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

only open mon to fri so we were lucky. Michael our guide was so very friendly and the information and stories he has are second to none Fantastic

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quick coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I called in just for a coffee and the staff were good enough to bring it out to me whilst I sat outside. You can get snacks and light meals there too. A lovely atmosphere

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Guildhall, Town Hall and Jail- all in one building !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What an interesting tour of this civic building. A hidden gem in the heart of Berwick. We turned up at 10.30am, no booking, and spent the next 90mins being shown around by an enthusiastic curator, who was proud to show us the town's heritage.
The top floor jail with its reinforced floor and walls really gave an idea of what the condemned prisoners experienced. There were plenty of authentic artefacts and photos too.
The bell tower contains a peal of 5 working bells which were being rung while we were there. The only other Town Hall in England with bells is Manchester, with a full set.
I can thoroughly recommend this visit, and at £2 per person, it's a real bargain.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall and Town Gaol Berwick upon Tweed also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Town Hall and Town Gaol Berwick upon Tweed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall and Town Gaol Berwick upon Tweed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.