We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audela

Audela
Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1ES, England
01289 308827
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Berwick upon Tweed
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I ate here for the first time this week, I had been put off by reviews about the previous owner of the restaurant/hotel. I was recommended to give this little place a try, that I would not be disappointed, and I most certainly was not.
The food was delicious and could not be faulted, service was excellent, nice friendly, helpful, polite staff, and the general feel was good. Nice to actually go to a restaurant that doesn't have sticky tables!!! Nice and clean throughout.
I would highly recommend this little gem at the bottom of town, well deserved of its placing in the trip advisor rated restaurants. Keep it going!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    40
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our second visit - first time we had gone to Holy Island, everything closing, and came to Berwick with one person not feeling, one vegetarian, and the other two of us starving and praying that we would find somewhere!

We did and everyone was pleased - the veggie with her meal, the unwell person perked up after a glass of champagne - and the other two of us were relieved that we had found somewhere to suit everyone's idea of what they wanted to eat!

So returned with parents this time - just as demanding. Excellent soup, the mushrooms on toast were excellent, very well seasoned, the pea and mint risotto first class, very creamy.

The shared mixed fish platter was just what we wanted, and the other two mains were excellent, only disappointment was the flabby chips. The ones we had on our first visit were brilliant, crisp on the outside, well seasoned, these had no crispness at all.

Puddings were good, rhubarb and ginger trifle, and pavlova.

Nice relaxed atmosphere, reasonable prices, very good restaurant that is welcoming and provides a nice range of food to suit even the most picky.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for lunches and dinners in a contemporary setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

They welcomed us - with our dog- and provided excellent food. At lunch the fresh crab sandwiches were excellent. At dinner the risotto, cheese soufflé and baked cod based dishes were delicious. Finally the home made read and butter pudding was a sinful delight

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle040710
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“AUDELA IS SIMPLY THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked the restaurant for a family celebration - it was FABULOUS - infact it was outstanding - from the moment we arrived we were greeted so courteously - catered for in a very professional manner with the prosecco and canapes we had ordered as an aperitif ( the canapes were delicious) and the 3 course meal we had ordered was just perfect as was the service. We had a fabulous time here - the team at Audela made our family celebration a day to remember. You must go to Audela.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful experience would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Audela last Sunday morning in search for a lovely breakfast. The atmosphere was very quiet with a couple of tables in which was ideal for us as it was around 11am. We were greeted warmly by a friendly waitress who was very accommodating and showed us to our very nice table. We had the Northumbrian breakfast and we couldn't recommend it more! Everything you could want from a breakfast and more. Would definitely go back soon. Fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audela also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Audela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.