We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yha stayed in to date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Berwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Berwick to your Saves list
YHA Berwick
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Dewars Lane Granary, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best yha stayed in to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just or 1 night during the week in a family room with 14 mth baby. Room clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Wet room shower warm with good pressure. Very good value for money. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast very good value for money too. Thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the hostel, a massive converted granary just by the quayside. Great location in centre of town within about 10 minutes walk of railway station. Had a 6 bed dorm to myself which was great. Very quiet, even on bank holiday weekend, which gave a rather gloomy feeling, given the large scale of the place. Clean and well run with very helpful staff and good facilities including self-catering kitchen, lounge and washing area, plus bistro with reasonably priced, though limited, menu. Also houses a pleasant art gallery. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great newish hostel in the centre of Berwick. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Had a fantastic 5-night stay.

Only quibbles would be that the kitchen was not checked daily, thus the full bins were not taken out when needed & one blocked sink not taken care of for several days. Also the shared ensuite bathroom was very nice indeed but it was sometimes inconvenient (e.g. first thing in the morning) as it was attached to a 6-bed dorm. Would have been useful to have extra facilities.

However on the whole we had a brilliant stay, would definitely come back, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I first became a member of the YHA in 1960 and for the next few years I cycled around Britain staying at many hostels. After a 50 year break I have joined again beginning with two nights at Berwick-on-Tweed but this time exchanging my mode of transport from pushbike to motorcycle!
I received a warm welcome on arrival and, after so long out of the 'system', given the necessary advice and assistance to ensure my stay was as comfortable as possible. A room to myself, friendly staff and good food made my stay all the more enjoyable. Importantly there was space available within the confines of the hostel to park my motorcycle (security most important).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Berwick is one of the newest YHA youth hostels, having only opened a few years ago. As a result the accommodation and decoration are the best I've experienced in any hostel. It's also clean and the staff are welcoming. This was out second visit and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I organised a trip for 22 people to Berwick YHA over the long Easter weekend. I have stayed in lots of hostels and bunkhouses, and this is up there with the best. The rooms are large with a good amount of storage space and clean ensuite bathrooms (with plenty of hot water!). The self catering kitchen is well equipped and large, and the lounge and dining areas are also comfortable. The bistro downstairs is good value, and friends who ate there said that the food was good quality. Breakfasts were great, with plenty of choice and hearty portions. The staff work amazingly hard to keep the place clean and tidy, whilst also running the breakfast service, bistro and hostel bookings. They were always smiling and efficient, even when faced with 22 hungry walkers expecting breakfast early in the morning. I would not hesitate to recommend the hostel to anyone wanting to book great value accommodation in the Berwick area. Thanks to Sion and the team for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent two nights at the YHA and found it clean, comfortable, safe, and friendly. The staff are all very kind people and helped me make some travel plans. The YHA is very centrally located, just a block from the beautiful river/coastal walk in one direction, and two blocks from the town center in the other. And their breakfast was delicious and really got me started both mornings! The staff also let me store my luggage safely before check in and after check out, no fees. I had a great time!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Berwick

Address: Dewars Lane Granary, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Berwick opened in 2011 and provides a state of the art hostelling experience. Set in a 240 year former granary, we offer budget accomodation for individuals, families, cyclists and walkers of all ages.Set on the ground floor we also have a contemporary bistro/cafe, open to everybody, offering a wide selection of tasty snacks and meals and hot and cold drinks. We're open for breakfast at 7:30 and serve food until 20:00.We also offer meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Berwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.