We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Berwick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Berwick to your Saves list
YHA Berwick
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Dewars Lane Granary, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Really pleasantly surprised to find such a historic/modern youth hostel. Just came back from a two night stay, wouldn't change a thing! The staff bend over backwards to be helpful and make your stay pleasant. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotalnd
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Must be one of the best value B&B's in delightful Berwick-upon- Tweed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay and the facilities and location were excellent - a credit to the YHA and a geat Berwick-upon-Tweed facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012. I paid £48 for a private room with en suite facilities and was delighted with it. The hostel is close to the waterfront and only 5 mins from the town centre. It's about a 10 min walk from the station.

The bedding was clean and fresh and the rooms are lovely and modern. The hostel has only been open just over a year and it's great. There is a bistro on the ground floor serving full English breakfasts and other meals throughout the day. It was my first time in a hostel because all the B&Bs I tried were full. I like it so much, I'm going to book another hostel break in Bath.

Berwick is stunning .. fantastic view, history around every corner, intact city walls and lovely walks on the coast and along the river. And Holy Island (Lindisfarne) is only a 30 min bus ride away £7.60 return on the bus.

A couple of days is probably enough but I strongly recommend both the hostel and Berwick itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The young and enthusiastic staff looked after us very well and the facilities provided everything we needed for the four days we stayed. The kitchen, dining and lounge rooms were well equipped with all you needed to self-cater, make yourself at home and meet other guests. There is excellent storage for bicycles which came in very handy during a very wet July. The rooms are basic and beds pretty average, but the accommodation overall is great value for money. Our bedroom had ensuite facilities. The cafe on the ground floor, run by YHA, was very good. There is also a very convenient and helpful bikeshop next door.

Room Tip: Beds are small (even the double beds) and the rooms we stayed in were all bunk-style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Only stayed here for 1 night, 5 family members (3 adults and 2 children). The hostel has been modernised yet still retains the charm of the original building. We had a large 5 bed room with a fabulous en-suite bathroom. We ate our evening meal and breakfast in the hostel and all the food was delicious. The lounge area was lovely and very clean with a large t.v. and very comfy sofas. There were plenty of books and games for the children to play. We did not use the kitchen but it was very modern and well-equipped. A fabulous hostel which we will definitely be visiting again. The only negative comment I have and it is by no means the fault of the hostel is that I like to sleep with the windows open and this was impossible because gulls make an awful lot of noise!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiveratsea
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

What an amazing find. A really interesting building in itself with real history. Apparently made famous by Lowry in a painting because it leans more than the Tower of Pisa!
Very clean accomodation with en suite rooms and a great guest lounge and kitchen on the top floor. Really handy for all the good bit of Berwick and right next to the historic walls.
Really friendly and helpful staff and a good Bistro, open to the public, on the ground floor if you can't be bothered to cook yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a two bedded room if they have one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The room was basic, had to make own bed, the mattress had crumbs all over it, beds are small. The shared kitchen was good. Had all the utensils you needed, very well set up. Kitchen was the best thing about the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Berwick

Address: Dewars Lane Granary, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Berwick opened in 2011 and provides a state of the art hostelling experience. Set in a 240 year former granary, we offer budget accomodation for individuals, families, cyclists and walkers of all ages.Set on the ground floor we also have a contemporary bistro/cafe, open to everybody, offering a wide selection of tasty snacks and meals and hot and cold drinks. We're open for breakfast at 7:30 and serve food until 20:00.We also offer meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Berwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.