We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-nonsense elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ladythorne House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ladythorne House
Save
You added Ladythorne House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cheswick, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2RW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No-nonsense elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my third visit to Ladythorne House - this time as a convenient stopover on the A1 south, rather than previously, as dormie house to the excellent Goswick links golf course nearby. Arriving late, Val and Rob had a cup of tea and biscuit ready in no time, without me asking. After a good night's sleep in an ensuite room, a hearty full British breakfast set me up brilliantly for a busy day.

Managed a quick walk along the deserted shore before I was on my way. The couple have done a fantastic job rescuing this elegant early Georgian residence, to which I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Some friends told us to try Ladythorne and they were right. Lovely building from 1721, comfortable spacious rooms, beautifully decorated, garden to stroll in, top breakfast with as much choice as you could want, try the kedgeree. But actually the main thing was the warmth and kindness of Val and Rob and Mr Parker senior. We have stayed in a few good B and Bs but never quite experienced that before. No wonder the other guests we met have been coming for 28 years!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Val & Rob are lovely, very warm and caring and work really hard to make you feel comfortable.
Stayed last minute as I was singing in the area.
Clean, comfortable, cosy and charming place.
Great breakfast with homemade breads, local smoked haddock and fresh fruit.

Rob helped me fix my car number plate that had fallen off in the night. Very nice of him.

Definitely stay here.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val P, Owner at Ladythorne House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review Paul. Glad to be able to help out.
Good luck with the singing.
Yours
Val and Rob xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here in August 2013 for 4 nights. It's easy to find near the A1 and convenient for Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle and the other great places to visit in the area. It's a grade 2 listed house from the 18th century with lovely views of the countryside from all aspects. It's also near a golf course if you're keen for a game, though I didn't check it out. The room (5) was comfortable with a good sized ensuite shower room. The bed was rather hard for my liking, as I suffer with backache.
Val and Rob were great hosts and breakfasts were very good and plentiful. In the evenings on our return from dinner they offered hot drinks and everyone sits in the lounge area. You did kind of feel obliged to join them and chat about your day, though I'm sure they wouldn't be offended if you didn't. I would recommend it as a good stopover en route north or south and if you fancy discovering the delights of the Northumbrian coast and castles.

Room Tip: A couple of the twin rooms (1 & 2) share a very nice bathroom, but room 5 had its own large show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently spent two peaceful nights with Val and Rob at Ladythorne House. It is in a delightful rural setting, yet only just over a mile from the A1 so easy to find.
Lovely clean rooms, our bathroom, although not ensuite, was large with a lovely roll top bath and an enormous shower. The views over the beautiful Northumbrian countryside from the garden make you want to sit and gaze at them all day!
Val gave us directions to a nearby beach, which, apart from a couple of dog walkers was deserted. Miles of soft clean sand with rolling waves, seabirds flying overhead, no one else to disturb the peace, what more could you ask for on a bank holiday?!
This a lovely place to stay if you want a quiet, unhurried break.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are ensuite, so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This has to be the best B&B I've stayed at. Wonderful home with lovely rooms and great breakfasts, but it's Val & Rob that make a stay here so memorable. They make you feel like an old friend come to visit. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have recently returned from an overnight stay at Ladythorne House, Cheswick. Val and Rob made our stay very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was fantastic (Kedgeree). The location is great and the house is a lovely place to stay. We highly recommend Ladythorne House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ladythorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ladythorne House

Address: Cheswick, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2RW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ladythorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A listed Georgian house built in 1721 with handmade bricks and carved sandstone front doorway and window frames, Ladythorne is a rare country house set in miles of tranquil, scenic countryside. Within easy driving range of Berwick upon Tweed and the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Our 4 comfortable, tastefully decorated bedrooms are all en-suite or private facilities with lovely views. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit/herbal infusions are available at all times in our guests sitting room. Also we have free wifi. We have three sitting rooms with televisions so you can always catch your favourite programme. On clear nights you can observe the Milky Way in the skies overhead. This is an area renowned for outdoor activities, there is a golf course just a mile away and we are on the Sustrans cycle no 1 coastal route. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ladythorne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.