We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing, great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Magna Tandoori

The Magna Tandoori
39 Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD151ES, England
01289302736
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A family run business managed by the Khan brothers. Established since 1982 serving only finest Indian food for over 30 years.Over the years we have received many awards.The the most recent award was the Cobra Good Curry Guide - voted best in the north. Open 7 days a week. Lunchtime from 12-2 and Evening 5-11.30pm. We are fully licensed with a vast array of beers, lagers and fine wines.
Duns, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Eaten in this restaurant on many occasions and I have to say I cannot fault it all! The food is lovely and staff are so friendly and nothing is ever a problem! Wide variety of traditional Indian cuisine at an excellent standard! If we can't sit in we have a takeaway and it is just as good! my boyfriend and I don't eat very spicy food but when you see the more intense flavoured dishes coming out they look lovely!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    107
    36
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Berwick.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I have used The Magna Tandoori for over 20 years and still have never found a better restaurant! DONT GO ANYWHERE ELSE!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and myself went in to the magna tandoori just by chance, the service and the food was fantastic we have raved to everybody and we will be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ingredients are high quality, fresh and lovingly prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Always a warm welcome and the food and ingredients are high quality, fresh and lovingly prepared. We often visit for a casual lunch after shopping in Berwick as well as for special occasions or simply a night out. The lunch menu is particularly budget friendly and you will leave feeling very full! The restaurant is very spacious and the staff are attentive and friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co'Path
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Is it worth a visit over the border?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Living 20 miles from Berwick and being keen Indian food converts, we were drawn to the Magna due to the exceptional reviews on Trip Advisor. As a carry out, I ordered the lamb madras with mushroom pilau, and my better half ordered the chicken Jalfreizei served with boiled rice. I must add that we collected the order at 2 in the afternoon but did not have our meal till later in the evening, once the kids were settled.
The madras was hot and tasty without being overly hot, although a few of the pieces of lamb were not as tender as I would have expected. The mushroom pilau was delicious.
The chicken Jalfreizei was hotter than one would expect, exceeding the heat of the Madras. Garlic nan was a bit on the doughy side and there was plenty of it.
Overall a satisfactory culinary experience, but not exceptional enough to make a habit of a 40 mile round trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magna Tandoori also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Magna Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Magna Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.