We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Glorious Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Head Hotel Restaurant

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
6 Sandgate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1EP, England
44 (01289) 307 852
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I loved the pre-dinner drinks at the bar, the home made breads and quality of all the food on the menu.A really relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff made our visit to Berwick special prompting us to visit again as our first experience at this hotel restaurant was just perfect.
I loved everything on the menu and over a long evening managed dessert too...totally scrummy and hope we get to visit again soon. Thank you to All at The Queens Head, Jane & Richard

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
A big thanks Jane for your review. We are pleased your return visit with us was a happy & pleasurable one. I know the reason with both of you coming up is due to business & we appreciate you coming to stay & dine in our establishment. Hope to see you both soon & as previously will order you some fresh lobster & crab if requested. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    97
    25
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2 Aussies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sent there by our host at West Longridge Manor. Table wasbooked by our B&B host and restarant stayed open for us.
Great food and service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for your review Micheal. We work closely & network with the guest accommodation providers in the town. As with Berwick not being a captive audience destination, we have to work at our businesses & try to ensure that all the public that pass through the town have a pleasant experience & either spread the word or return for another visit. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland,England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Arty farty and pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The food is extremely pricey and quite arty farty but it is delicious.
Some weird combonations of food but strangely they work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. On our restaurant menu we offer a broad selection of locally sourced seasonal produce with accompaniments which may not be to every persons taste but with being fresh produce we can vary the menu on customers request this is & never has been a problem, in the end we are trying to cater for every persons needs & for our customers to leave happy & content. As mentioned in the previous review transparency is paramount in this business. We display our menu & prices on our live web-site or on blackboards outside at the front of the building leaving the potential customers the choice to come & dine with us or move on to another restaurant.. Thanks again for your review & we do hope you return to us in the future to sample some more dishes & as said previously we can alter the menu on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Big plates, small portions, big prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night and we kinda enjoyed what we had but we were disappointed by the portion size and the cost. The Berwick crab I had for a starter was lovely but it was a tiny portion. We both had the monkfish for our main and once again it wasn't very big. The accompanying vegetable were lovely and full of flavour. For two starters, two mains and three drinks it cost us £60 which we felt was a bit steep. The service was great and we got a warm welcome from Heather who remembered us from our last visit. We'd still go back to eat here but would probably go for a bar meal and not a la carte.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your honest & constructive review & may I apologise if your evening with us was not to your perception of 'value for money'. In all fairness its difficult to try & gauge & with best intentions please everyone. We all have our own interpretation of what's good value. The hotel tries to cover all price brackets in the evening from fresh beer battered haddock & chips up to more elaborate meals like Locally sourced beef fillet or Berwick lobster. You mentioned your bill came to nearly £60 but with £18 being spent on wine £21 per person for two course which included Berwick white crab meat & an 8 oz monkfish piece with sauce & vegetables which are included in the price seems a fair reflection for premium quality produce. Our menus are clearly displayed on our live web-site & on menus outside on blackboards etc & as mentioned in previous reviews transparency is a must as the public do not like to have any hidden extras. As you mentioned in your review we hope you return & you can sample some of our cheaper dishes. Thanks again for your constructive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“friends reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Service was excellent.
Two waiters served 30 people. service was polite and efficient.
Ambience is always excellent and each individual is served as the only diner in the room.
Everyone was complimentary and restaurant was very hospitable and comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words Derek & were more than happy we made your evening an enjoyable one. Consistency is important in this trade offering freshly prepared local produce & to compliment that nice relaxed atmosphere with good efficient & professional service. I am pleased we ticked all of these boxes & hope to see you or your in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.