We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar

Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar
26 Hide Hill, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1AB, England
+44 1289 303939
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We took over Foxtons on 1st December 2012! So to update you, if you are a previous customer; we have invested in completely new toilets, redecorated the interior spaces, opened a new Foxtons yard garden to the rear, a real suntrap! We replaced the awful charity shop seating, invested in new kitchen stuff (which you cannot see!) introduced Bose sound driven by iTunes and improved the food and smartened the service up. Our new general manager is well known locally and together we have employed three new chefs and kitchen staff. We have introduced a comprehensive wine list and Proseccos and Champagnes. Our new menus offer something for all from belly pork to 21 day aged steaks from local farms. Or, try our shellfish and fish from local suppliers. Soup and salads, burgers and sandwiches available too at lunch time. So, with 6 excellent house wines by glass to choose from and a variety of beers and lagers like Belhaven Best, Peroni, Guinness and a weekly guest cask ale Like Timothy Taylor's Landlord. So we hope you can come and see us soon and enjoy! Foxtons welcomes children and we have a childrens' menu too. We strongly recommend that you book for Thursday, Friday & Saturday dinner and Sunday lunches as we are often fully booked. We are open for food 7 days a week. Closed Sunday night for dinner.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

absolutely gorgeous meal tonight with my dad and my two sons,we all had starters, soup,garlic mushrooms ( which I wish now that I had as they were scrumptious)bread and oil, then to follow steaks, steak pie,pork chops with one of the nicest sauces ever. we could not of had a nicer meal on a lovely Monday night and considering its a Monday foxtons were really busy. compliments to the chef and and the staff the service was second to none!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your kind review. We are all very pleased that you had a nice family meal. The pork is amazing isn't it? It is supplied by RG Foreman and locally grown. Our chefs love to get praise and they will be delighted with your comments. Now that the summer is here (hopefully) we are busy most nights so it is advisable to book especially at the weekends.

We look forward to your next visit, if you can send me an email we can join you into our TripAdvisor competition to win a dinner for two worth £80!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    50
    28
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland,England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Well done to the new owners of Foxtons,far better in every sense of the word.
Brilliant fresh food,great prices.
Service was bit scatty at times,we had a number of different servers,not sure if they knew who was covering what table that is my only criticism.

Looks better and feels much friendlier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your feedback and constructutive criticism on the service. We are actively working to improve our table service and this has not been helped by the failure of our EPOS till system last week. That will be replaced this week hopefully. So next time we hope that the service is a bit more organised!

Like many good restaurants in Berwick we are proud to serve locally grown and sourced meats, sea food and produce. North Northumberland is blessed with amazing farm land and the North Sea, then of course we have three talented and hard working chefs to cook it to perfection.

I hope that you return to Foxtons Wine Bar and Restaurant soon and try our menu again and we look forward to your comments. We are running a competition from this week to win a free meal for two plus fizz for one lucky couple who submit a TripAdvisor review (and provide their email to enter the draw), so hopefully you will enter that too! This prize is worth £80!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere, happy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Was out for a walk and walked past foxtons wine bar. Looked a very busy place, so we decided to try after looking at the menu outside. Staff were very attentive, and amazing with my two children.
Food was of great value, I very much enjoyed my roast beef, gravy could of been a little better.

Overall a very happy place and great experience. Will be returning on our annual trip to Berwick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks for taking time to give us some feedback. We offer free meals for under ten year olds on a Sunday and we know that that helps mums and dads keep the cost of having a Sunday lunchtime treat down. When you come back next year I am sure you will enjoy the gravy more as our head chef has spotted that criticism!

Once again many thanks for your custom and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Chilled out and perfect for a Day off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and our friend run The Cross Inn, in Paxton, and as we close on a Monday we like to get into town to have a bite of lunch and a drink to relax. I work on a busy holiday park also and get Monday afternoon and Tuesday off. So time together is important. Most weeks we find ourselves going to Foxtons for Lunch. Creatures of habit we love to sit in the window on the platform watching the world go by.

As we are are in the trade we are very aware of service and standards. I have to say that the manager whose name I don't know, I am sorry (but will find out next week) , always greets you with a smile and a hello and I find her very professional and welcoming. Also as we have been coming in a bit now, its nice she remembers us and most importantly what wine I like to drink. which to me, being from the service industry I find refreshing. (as well as the wine)

The other girl, also that works Monday with the manager (with the blonde hair) I also find very good and friendly, she always asks how we are doing at The Cross, and again remembers what you like to drink and where you like to sit. Top marks also to her (again, next week we will ask your name). Little things like this go a long way with a customer.

As a long time Foxtons customer I now enjoy going again, and as we have not done dinner yet and only Lunch, I recommend the Steak Sandwich and any of the light bites. We will come along for dinner though if we ever get the time as I am sure it will be just as nice.

If you want a nice place in town to relax, have a great glass of wine and some good value for money food then we recommend Foxtons.

Also we welcome the owners and staff of Foxtons to The Cross in Paxton anytime and we will look after you as you look after us. Have a great year guys. Joanna & Eddy Coulson.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hllo Mr & Mrs Coulson, may i thank you for taking the time to givereally constructive feedback on the Foxtons service, food and ambience. It is especially pleasing to recive praise for someone in the trade locally. As you know we are very lucky to live in such a wonderful area which is a source of fabulous fresh produce which we buy every day.

Making sure our guests are welcomed and enjoy their visit is our manager Tracey Thompson's skill. She and her team enjoy seeing regular and new visitors and always have a smile ready.

Along with Mrs S we will try and visit The Cross when we get a day off and look forward to meeting you and we promise to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Meanwhile I do hope you return and try our menu again and we look forward to your comments. We are running a competition from this week to win a free meal for two plus fizz for one lucky couple who submit a TripAdvisor review (and provide their email to enter the draw), so hopefully you will enter that too! This prize is worth £80!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than a 5 - great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Berwick itself felt a little run down as a city after travelling around the countryside in England - Foxton, however, was a special find. Service was excellent - we were promptly seated, attentive staff, friendly and open offer to check that we were happy with our meal etc.

Food - AMAZING quality for the price we paid. We had the prawn starters which was had a beautifully fresh salad and juicy prawns, followed by very well made salmon, fantastic texture and really good blend of taste. Our friends had the halloumi with sweet potato wedges (tasty wedges!) and the pork fillet - fairly generous portions on mains, just perfect starter size. Will definitely stop over again if we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Anita, many thanks for your lovely comments. As you may have seen in our menus all our seafood is caught locally and supplied by Collins of Eyemouth. The pork was reared locally too, in Lowick, near Berwick and supplied by RG Foremans the local butchers.

Our chefs love working with such quality ingredients as it allows their skill to shine. Fresh produce, good skilled cooking equals fabulous tasty food.

As new owners of the business we want to make sure as many people read about our restuarant and TripAdvisor comments are a great way to achieve that. We always welcome constructive criticism and listen carefully to feedback, complaints or compliments. This is how we can continue to improve our menus and services.

So we do hope you return and try our menu again and we look forward to your comments. We are running a competition from this week to win a free meal for two plus fizz for one lucky couple who submit a TripAdvisor review (and provide their email to enter the draw), so hopefully you will enter that too if you make it back this way. This prize is worth £80!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.