We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by food and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn at Beal

The Barn at Beal
Beal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PB, England
+44 1289 540044
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by food and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I had read about The Barn on TA and went for a coffee there before visiting Holy Island. It was a delight, the homemade shortbread was feather light. We browsed in the vintage shop and went to the Birds of Prey centre which, though small put on an excellent display by someone who clearly has a bond with his feathered charges. The restaurant only does evening meals on Fridays and Saturdays so we booked for the Friday as it was our last night. The have Happy Hour from 6 until 7 and a fixed price menu which we found to be varied and reasonable priced. I had squid to start which was recommended and was excellent. The rest of the meal and the service was faultless.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    109
    36
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I thought it OK!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Seen a few recent negative Reviews (as well as some positive). Found it to be Good and certainly much better than some of the 'establishments' on Holy Island. We had a Seafood Platter (£12) as a shared meal and thought it very good and of value.

Plenty of easy parking and good facilities. V clean. Certainly worth a try. Pet friendly but outside only though there is a covered area if inclement weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced for Spoilt Meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Relatively new restaurant with stunning views of Holy Island and coast. Waiting staff very pleasant. Ample parking, outside seating area to accommodate people with dogs, children's play area and nearby wild bird centre. Varied menu but this is where it all falls apart. The menu is varied and very nice but slightly overpriced and lack of true description of what you are ordering leads to waste of meal and money. Visited for light lunch with my husband, Ordered two beef burger rolls that would be served with fresh salad and chips according to the menu however when we started to eat them found them to be smothered on one half of the roll in a burger dressing and on the other half caramelised onions and quite spicy mustard. We could have expected some type of dressing or onions but mustard....surely this should be an optional condiment ? The burgers were not that nice either having quite a spicy flavour and the texture of sausage meat also the chips were dry as if kept warm for too long. All in all a very disappointing meal for the cost of £9.95 for each burger plus drinks. I would have complained and asked for another burger minus all the mustard but to be honest it was horrible anyway and I would not have wanted another one with or without all the extra toppings. It made me think that the chef was trying to over dress up a traditional snack and my advice would be to ask exactly how your meal will be served and what exactly will be in your meal. Shouldn't think I'll bother returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could've been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The waiting staff took our orders down wrong twice,and when it arrived it wasn't great,as the order was still wrong,but we were that fed up of waiting we just ate it

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After a recommendation from an acquaintance we made an impromptu lunch time visit last Thursday. It was very busy and a bit noisy but the staff coped well with the demand and service was prompt.
We had a local fish platter, a ploughmans and fish and chips. All well prepared and presented.
It was too cold to sit outside but even from one of the back tables inside the view is stunning.
Prices are above average for the area but not exorbitant for this quality or setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn at Beal also viewed

Belford, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Barn at Beal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn at Beal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.