We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Town House

Elizabethan Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabethan Town House
Save
You added Elizabethan Town House to your Saves list
8 Sidey Court, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“We loved it and we'll be back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

A super place to stay when visiting this ancient beautiful town. Lying close to the old walls - the Ramparts - and walking on them mornings and evenings and whenever you want - looking over the sea and the river and the old town and three bridges - what can you want more?

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and en suité
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The room was better than in the hotel pictures in Internet, city was beautiful and location great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just returned from a very relaxing few days in Berwick on Tweed. We were lucky to get cheap 1st class return tickets on the East Coast line and even luckier to arrange to stay at The Elizabethan Town House which is ideally located in the town and not far from the railway station. The owners (David and Shirley McLean) very kindly offered to pick us up at the station with our luggage and arranged our return also.
Our room was very clean with all amenities provided. Staff were very friendly and David the proprietor very helpful and informative about the area.
The huge breakfast provided by Shirley set you up for the day and we certainly had no complaints whatsoever, except perhaps that we had to rush one to catch the bus to Alnwick at 9 as the next was 11am!
Our only disappointment today was the rain because we were looking forward to the Market. However, this had been preceeded by two lovely enjoyable sunny days.
We had no complaints on this short break, which is unusual because normally we do have.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Elizabethan Town House is an ideal hotel to stay when visiting Berwick upon Tweed. It is situated in the centre of the town, only a few minutes walk from the train station and close to shops, bars and restaurants. We received a very friendly welcome from the manager, David, who made a lovely gesture of taking my mother and myself for a lovely drive to see some of the sights. Our room was clean and comfortable with television and good facilities. The breakfast, served in a delightful dining room, was excellent. We would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed with young family for one week. Couldn't have asked for more friendly reception. family room was perfect and kids made to feel really welcome. Loved it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend at the end of June staying here. As soon as we arrived, we were met by Shirley and straight away she made us feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable, nice and bright and the bathroom was very clean with a good shower. I love my food and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic, it sets you up for the day. It suited us perfectly as it was situated close to the restaurants and bars. We went to a restaurant called Amaryllis (on David's advice . . .) and had one of the best steaks ever. It's not very often we stay in B & Bs, but the hospitality and personal touch were much appreciated. We loved it and would be our 1st choice if returning. Davie and Margaret

Room Tip: We had a room facing the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here over a weekend and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The hosts David and Shirley were very welcoming and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was hearty and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The location couldn't be better as it is situated on the historic ramparts and is literally a stone's throw from the town centre. We will most certainly be staying here again on our next annual visit to the magnificent town of Berwick-Upon-tweed.....

The Jersey Gang

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabethan Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Town House

Address: 8 Sidey Court, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.