We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean accommodation, great base to explore local area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Berwick Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Berwick Holiday Park
Save
You added Haven Berwick Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Magdalene Fields, Berwick upon Tweed, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice clean accommodation, great base to explore local area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On arrival check-in was quick and friendly, the team member requested that if we were unhappy with anything then not to hesitate in letting them know, which was reassuring.

We selected the prestige 2012 grade of caravan. The decor was fresh and modern with a seaside chalet feel. The kitchen was well equipped, cooker fridge and freezer were all spotlessly clean. The caravan had full central heating with radiators in all rooms. The shower was a good size too with plenty of hot water. Overall the caravan was clean and well presented.

The site had a well stocked SPAR supermarket, although just a short walk away in Berwick is a Co-operative Food supermarket with better prices and deals available (and happier staff!).

The indoor pool is quite small and can feel crowded and noisey at busy times, but again was clean and in good order.

The Mash and Barrel offers a wide range of food, but not particular good value for money.

The site is well located to explore Berwick and other attractions such as Holy Island by car. Berwick train station is also just a short walk away with connections to the East Coast and Edinburgh.

All the Haven staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    133
    68
    25
    40
See reviews for
233
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my husband and i stopped for weekend 2nd to 5th november, went through sun holidays, which have done plenty of times, paid for a upgraid, only to be put in a very basic caravan 10ft wide, no heating in bedroom or bathroom, mouldy double duvet didnt use that, blind on bathroom window mouldy, i really think haven could do better, i dont expect top luxury but as it was a really cold weekend would have thought they could have offered some form of heating or a better caravan. apart from that the park is in a lovely position overlooking the sea and had no complaints about the park itself, although would like to see different entertainment rather than singers all the time, comedy or a magic show would be good. we prefer park resorts or parkdean caravans, they are usually much better!

Room Tip: pay for a heated caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Beautiful sea view caravan, everything else the usual over priced Haven rubbish.

Poor / unintentionally funny evening entertainment - especially the take that tribute, although totally 80s comes close

Room Tip: Get the best van you can afford, ask for a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited 22-26 October. Opted for the Prestige Caravan with central heating... The standard of cleanliness was ok. Few cobwebs hanging from light fittings and the beds which were supposed to be ready made up were done roughly and had to be remade properly before use. I am pleased we opted for the van with heating, this was needed!! The caravan was lovely and warm. Having stayed at Haven before we knew to pack things like washing up liquid, tea towels, dishcloth, toilet rolls etc...... expensive in the onsite shop if you forget them. The activities for the kids weren't bad.... the aqua gliders and fencing got the thumbs up from the children but oh dear the water walkerz.....you got only 5 minutes and that was all... so don't expect your child to be overwhelmed at those. The other activities lasted about half hour and you had to book those in advance. The Mash & Barrel is the Restaurant/Cafe/Bar onsite...... Having been to Haggerston I found their Mash & Barrel fine.... Not Brewick Haven though........ Over our 5 days stay out of about 8 staff only one managed to smile and be pleasant. One girl on the Tuesday afternooon shift actually bordered on cheeky because I asked what wines they had???? The food, we tried the main meals which weren't bad but not hot. The baguette sandwich was not cut, just dumped on the plate, we got no knives, sauces or napkins. Finally the breakfast.... when it arrived the food was cold, I couldn't even class it as warm. The bacon was undercooked and the kids just point blank refused to eat it. However......... overall we liked the park (it was very clean, no rubbish lying around) and the caravan was lovely so will definitley go back but will probably eat out in Berwick!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend- as part of the £9.50 holiday with The Sun. We paid for an upgraded caravan and then paid the park directly for a further upgrade. I have to say I was disappointed in the caravan- there is mildew on curtains, problems with hot water, and dead flies squashed into bathroom blind.

I did speak to reception and the water was sorted promptly.

The park itself is right by the seaside and the usual indoor pool is available. Having stayed at different Haven parks before I cannot see why this park has a 5 star rating- there are no more amenities here than 3 or 4 star parks.

The kids have enjoyed themselves though and that's the objective for places like this!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

came with my girlfriend, 2 dogs and another couple, as we were stopping at berwick the night before, we came early, they took some information from me, my girlfriend and her friend werent allowed in as i took the dogs for a walk, they sat in reception and told a funstar, they said show the letter as we all wanted a drink, so we had one, i was bored and they contacted me by phone to say that the caravan was ready, so got the key and headed to the caravan, not in a bad place, the entertainment was good, but i do feel that berwick holiday park could do with a paint in the showbar, spar is expensive, berwick has got plenty of supermarkets such as asda, co-op, tesco, morrisons, farmfoods and aldi, berwick also has got a market on wednesday and saturday, me and my girlfriend did visited town alot and liked home bargains, the beach at berwick holiday park is superb for the 2 cocker spaniels for a run, berwick holiday park had a new garden part which looked nice, the staff liked my dogs, we came to berwick for 3 nights on 12.10.12 and didnt want to leave, we are consider coming back next year and will order more blankets if its cold like this year, even our portable heater wasnt good enough, berwick holiday park does nice meals, but i ate at the caravan as i cooked my own healthy meals,but i will eat there one day

Room Tip: check the weather and make sure that going in october that you take the right gear specially if its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the caravan park back in May 2012 and wasn't disappointed, it had everything we needed onsite for the 4 night break.

The caravan itself was very well equipped and spacious, my 18 month old loved it, running around and climbing all over the sofas, looking out the window at the birds, tractors and rabbits running around. We had heating in every room and certainly needed it at night; we did not go for a 2012 deluxe but still had no complaints.

The resort itself was also very good; the pool was excellent as was the water slide. The changing area was clean with plenty of lockers and changing booths. We never got to use the outside area and pools because of the weather, but certainly spent a small fortune on the slot machines and rides...!

The restaurant was OK. It was quite quiet when we went there for a couple of meals and it was just really what we expected, cheap grub at OK prices. We ended up eating in the caravan most of the time as we went with friends and just shared most meals. Even managed a wee BBQ on our first night.

The night time entertainment was also pretty good although they really need to a) turn it down (or maybe it was just my age but you could barely hear each other speak) and b) reduce the number of chairs in the venue and its a nightmare trying to navigate round them especially with a buggy.

All in all we had a fantastic break and would happily go back. Next time we hope for much better weather...!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven Berwick Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Berwick Holiday Park

Address: Magdalene Fields, Berwick upon Tweed, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Berwick Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Haven Berwick Holiday Park Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Berwick Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.