We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lindisfarne Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lindisfarne Inn
Save
You added The Lindisfarne Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Beal | Berwickshire, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PD , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stopped at this hotel 3 or 4 times as is in an excellent location for holy island and considerably cheaper than stopping on the island which we have also done.
The winter break price of £44.50 per person bed and breakfast is excellent value. It includes food up to £15 per person which got us soup and a main meal but with no money to spare.
The food was ok but if I had paid £30 for the meals I would have considered them overpriced and I wouldn't have been very happy.
The breakfast was good
All the staff are very nice and very helpful.
We will continue to visit the hotel in the future and totally recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the review and five stars - our winter break prices are fantastic value and they last until March 31st too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    67
    40
    23
    16
See reviews for
57
154
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our third stay. It is a fantastic place to stay for a short break. The staff are really good , so friendly and attentive. Its a great base for visiting Holy Island. We only live 70 miles away but we love the Island and like to visit at different times of the year .We often have stayed on the Island but we would strongly recommend people to try this accomodation . Thank you again for making our short stay so relaxing. Deborah & Bryan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
What a lovely review from lovely people. Many thanks - we hope to see you again soon. We're the home from home choice for lots of repeat guests. Come and try us out if you haven;t already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first visit to the Lindisfarne Inn we booked a Winter Break between Christmas & New Year. We chose the Inn having read some reviews on Trip Advisor and also we like Northumberland as a desintation for a short break.

The rooms are in the old stables behind the Inn and are warm and cosy. Our room was on the first floor and although the Inn is situated on the A1 there is very little noise from passing traffic. With the Winer Break option dinner is included for a value of up to £15.00 per person which is generous as this covers most 2 course options (i.e starter & main or main & a pudding). The food was very good wholesome fayre. We would stay here again or call for a meal if in the area.

Whilst we were there we visited Berwick on Tweed, Bamburgh for a nice walk on the beach and also Lindisfarne (Holy Island). A word of warning to anyone visiting Holy Island check the tide times we visited on the Saturday when the causeway was open till 13.15 we left 12.30ish and due to wnd & changes of tide the causway flooded early stranding some people for up to 5 hours. So best to leave early not to be caught out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Our winter breaks are brilliant and excellent value - glad you've found us. We hope you come and stay again soon.

Tide tables to one of the UK's mosyt unique island's are located in the bar area - or just ask a member of staff. We don;t want anyone getting stranded on the island - beautiful as it is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a belated review for the Lindisfarne Inn as we were at the Inn on December the 8th. It all started a few months before as we called in purely by chance for a bite to eat after a game of golf in Berwick. At the time there was four of us ( 2 couples ) and as I said we called in on chance for a bite to eat, while we were waiting for the food to arrive we noticed a flyer on the table that was advertising an evening with Brendan Healey- a comedian - a 3 course meal all for £35, and if you wanted to stay for the night it was an extra £25 for bed and breakfast per person. Good value we thought, and something different, my wife and I had seen Brendan at Hexham Queens hall when he did an half an hour slot in between the Junco partners ( a group ), so we knew he was very funny.

We decided to book 2 rooms and come for the show on the strength of the meals we had on that first trip, I cannot remember what I had but I do know that it was pretty good. Actually all four of us were delighted with the standard of the food as I suppose with it being on the main A1 you might think that it would just be typical motorway food - not very nice and expensive! Nothing could be further from the truth, from the very pleasant staff to the choice of food you will not be disappointed, even like us if your just calling in on speck.

Come the night of the show, where do I begin, a very warm welcome from the staff, a warm, very roomy room and a fabulous meal followed by a fantastic night of comedy. Brendan was telling jokes for about an hour, took a 20 minute break and came back and did over an hour of jokes, some you may have heard before but I dare you not to come away with your sides hurting from laughing so much. Then when you eventually get to your lovely warm room, you can curl up in your Queen size bed and relax and sleep well. The facilities in your room are excellent, no complaints, plenty of room to swing a cat - if you like that sort of thing - and the shower was superb.

Breakfast now and we are wondering is this going to be the one down side, I mean how do you follow such a wonderful meal from the night before? Well unfortunately I have nothing bad to say about the breakfast, it was served up at our table piping hot and plenty of it. For people who have read our reviews you will know we are always fair and I can honestly say if your are ever in the area please, please call into the Lindisfarne as it is something special, I cannot praise the place or the staff highly enough and would think that it would never get a bad review. Use the Inn to explore the wonderful countryside and beaches around Northumberland and you are only a 15 minute drive away from Berwick. What are you waiting for?? Do it now!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We loved your review - thank you so much! Hope you come and see us again soon. We're hoping Brendan will be making a return and we've more entertainment packages in the pipeline, so keep an eye out for them. We were delighted to feature in Golf Monthly recently too, as we're a real gem of a place for golfers too, with so many great courses on the doorstep. And we pride ourselves on definitely NOT serving motorway food! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I booked two nights at the Lindisfarne Inn, after wanting a little break away to visit the famous Holy Island! Family recommended Lindisfarne Inn as being "an overall fantastic place to stay" so we were excited to see it for ourselves. We arrived and was so happy to be welcomed with a roaring fire! Although the weather was awful, the staff were very welcoming and smiley which was a great start to our stay! We were shown to our room which was perfect for our short stay, and to say the bed was comfy was an understatement! When we went to the restaurant for our meal, the staff were ever so helpful showing us to a nice little window booth, and were more than happy to do anything for us! My husband's quite picky with his food, but the waitress was not phased by this and just wanted both of us to be happy, so didn't mind that we were asking questions about the food and what we could have, she soon went and asked the chef and he said that what my husband wanted was not a problem! Service was fantastic, and the waitress was very friendly stopping to ask us about our stay! Our meal was enjoyed along with Christmas music and a large glass of wine! I would recommend the Lindisfarne Inn to anyone as the food is beautiful and the staff are 5*, will be returning hopefully in the summer! Can't wait to book and return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for a lovely review which sums up what the Lindisfarne Inn is all about - looking after our guests and making sure everything about your stay is fantastic so they return and recommend! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This my second visit to the Lindisfarne Inn this year, and once again I was not disappointed. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome. The staff greet you with a smile and a very friendly attitude. I checked in and was shown to my room, the young man even carried my bag for me! The room was spacious and very clean and tidy, with an amazing power shower and enough room to swing a cat! The food was once again excellent and I had the stuffed mushrooms from the specials board and the homemade beef casserole it was truly delicious. The Northumbrian breakfast is served up with a smile and is very tasty and well presented. The staff at the Lindisfarne really do go that extra mile to make your stay as pleasant and as memorable a possible. Don't worry about any noise from the A1 the rooms must be well insulated as I didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for a fab review and five stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Lindisfarne Inn and found it to be perfect in every way.
The attention to detail in both the bar/restaurant and the bedrooms was excellent, the service was outstanding and the food was delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly, in particular Anna the assistant manager, who had a vast knowledge of the surrounding area to help with days out etc.
The bedrooms were spotlessly clean, with a very large comfortable bed, a superb power shower and the softest of towels.
In short, we could not have wished for better, so if you are looking to explore this beautiful and unspoilt area, look no further for your accommodation, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We really appreciate your review. Thank you. Our staff as you have found do everything they can to go the extra mile and enjoy our guests enjoy a great stay with us. It is rewarding to the team to receive this feedback. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lindisfarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindisfarne Inn

Address: Beal | Berwickshire, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lindisfarne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, great value three-star inn with accommodation in Northumberland. 22 en-suite rooms, free WiFi, complimentary Northumberland breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lindisfarne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.