We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best B&B ever..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clovelly House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clovelly House
Save
You added Clovelly House to your Saves list
58 West Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THE best B&B ever..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a place this is. Great price and hospitality that is out of this world. Loads of great little touches like a complimentary box of chocolates, complimentary wine & beer! Very comfortable room, the whole place has a very welcoming feel. Superb location bang in the centre of Berwick.
The breakfasts served up are unbelievable in both quality and quantity. They offer standard and a house special. We opted for the standard and the size of it was amazing! The chap next to us had the special and he was struggling to finish it. Hats off to Vivienne and Rocky for a top class place and if we are in the area again it will be our first choice for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
64
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I used this hotel as a base for exploring Northumbria. The price was so good that I thought there was no way I was going to get a room there, so glad I did. The hospitality was second to none. The food was tremendous and the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. I've recommended this place to friends already but think Clovelly House deserves a mention on here. I can only agree, totally with what has been written already.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our family stayed here on my ancestry quest. Viv and Rocky were the perfect hosts for our first ever stay in a B&B! Being from Texas we had to get used to less space for us and luggage, but the graciousness of our hosts more than made up for that. Rocky helped me park, and Viv gave us the lowdown on the museum we were to see that has the ancestry info we were looking for. Attention to every detail imaginable. It was nice to sit in the breakfast area with other guests. In fact Viv made it a point to introduce each guest to all the others. Her servings and Rocky's good cooking were stellar. This B&B is centrally located near shopping, the local theater, the pub that Rocky prefers, ATM, and excellent cafes. And they seem to know everybody in town!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our first stay at clovelly house.We took my wifes mum with us for a couple of nights for a break .Straight away we all felt at home.Viv was very attentive without been intrusive.The rooms were so cosy and the little touches that awaited us like the wine,fruit and chocolates were very nice.The breakfast that Rocky cooked was amazing with a vast choice on the menu.Its not often we stay somewhere more thsn once but we are planning our next visit soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Once again, our visit to Clovelly House was wonderful, with genuine and unsurpassed hospitality from hosts Vivienne and Rocky. Breakfasts keep getting better and room beautifully comfortable, clean, with everything you could want.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three of the double rooms and would recommend any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband &I spent one night in this brilliant B&B,
Viv & Rocky were very warm & welcoming,
Room was excellant,facilities excellant & WOW what a breakfast,
Would highly recommend,we are only sorry we could not have stayed longer.
Really hope to be able to visit again soon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My only regret is that we couldn't stay another night. If only we could relocate them on all our travels.
It would take too long to list the good points, but, room-fantastic. Welcome and attention to detail- out of this world. Breakfast - unbelievable.
Definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clovelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly House

Address: 58 West Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Clovelly House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clovelly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.