We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for central Berwick and coastal walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granary Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granary Guest House
Save
You added Granary Guest House to your Saves list
11 Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1ES , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Springtime Offer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for central Berwick and coastal walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this after seeing great tripadvisor reviews as we wanted to walk some of the Berwickshire coastal path for my husband's birthday.
Pam and David were very attentive in terms of keeping in touch before our arrival and making sure everything was correct. We moved rooms after one night which was our fault as we had booked late and this was made as easy as possible for us which was great. We stayed in the Dream Suite for our first night which was really luxurious and the Red room for our second night which was very comfortable and had a great shower! The chocolate and wine in the rooms was a lovely treat and helped to make the trip feel special.
On arrival we were served tea and cakes which was a really nice start to the weekend. We had massages on our first afternoon and they were very relaxing. My husband fell asleep during his!!
Breakfasts were fantastic and very relaxed with time to read the paper and chill out. I can recommend the Eggs Benedict and also the porridge and my husband enjoyed his Full Scottish both days!!
If you like walking this is a great base for the coastal path and the two walks we did (Eyemouth to Berwick and St Abbs to St Abbs Head circular) were both fantastic and very picturesque.
Thanks Pam and David for a great stay, we hope to come back sometime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
247
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our second visit to the Granary after staying last year. This is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing break/ visit to this beautiful area. Pam and David are brilliant hosts and make sure all their guests have a great time. Nothing is too much trouble - Pam did a great job of cleaning my jacket sleeve overnight which I had managed to dip in the berry juices of a summer pudding. David always makes sure he carries the guests cases to and from the car (no matter how heavy the cases are). They both have great suggestions on the best things to do in the area depending on the weather. Breakfasts are a first class joy with high quality local ingredients perfectly cooked. The rooms have very comfortable beds with high quality bedding, towels and toiletries. The showers are excellent and there are dressing gowns to wear. There is plenty of audio visual entertainment provided and we enjoyed the complementary wine & chocolates. There are a number of good places for lunch and dinner within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights and were thoroughly spoiled. The standard is first class. Everything is spotlessly clean and I challenge you to find a better breakfast anywhere. Pam & David are the perfect hosts, attentive but unobtrusive. Thank you !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Granary for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer. David and Pam are excellent hosts and very knowledgeable about the local area. The breakfast is to die for and the room was very well appointed, with a very comfortable bed.
The only downside is that an evening meal is not an option, looking for somewhere to eat in a strange town can be daunting and tiring, but David did direct us to a very nice restaurant just two minutes from the Granary.
The Granary is situated at the heart of Berwick upon Tweed with some lovely walks around the town walls just a few minutes away. It was also a great delight to sit on the wall one evening and watch as a seal played in the shallows just a few metres away. All in all a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The granary is the loveliest place to stay and its all down to the fantastic owners Pam and Dave :-) .I am so glad my husband chose the granary for our Anniversary weekend .we stayed here on our honeymoon and was lovely to return :-) x
THanks again.Mrs Caroline Boobyer x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This Guest House is absolutely perfect. It has a lovely town centre location, adjacent to all the amenities you could want, as well as a lovely seaside walk. It is run by two quite lovely people (Pam and David) who get the perfect balance between being available enough, yet not intrusive. It is a lovely house with luxury amenities, and well thought through complementary bits and pieces (wine in the fridge, chocolates, biscuits and tea & cake on arrival). It is spotlessly clean and offers a truly luxury breakfast.

If I return to Berwick I will stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: The dream suite is well worth the little extra money!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I cannot remember how often we have stayed here now, we don't even think about going anywhere else, your stay here is like being with good friends or family nothing is a problem, there is always a friendly welcome and the breakfasts are wonderful I'm a big lad and like a good breakfast and I have never been disappointed and certainly never left hungry, the rooms here are well equipped with very comfortable beds, this is a FIVE STAR B & B you will not get better in Berwick or the surrounding area, but please don't stay here or it might be full the next time we want to stay !!!
Another fantastic stay thanks again Pam & David
See you soon
T & O

Room Tip: The Dream suite is a lovely room, but the others are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granary Guest House

Address: 11 Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1ES , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Georgian townhouse,centrally located in the historic Elizabethan town of Berwick upon Tweed. The Granary is a newly established 5 star Gold award winning stylish boutique and contemporary luxury bed and breakfast/guesthouse with free private parking in the courtyard garden.The Granary is dated as far back as Tudor times of the 1600's and is located in Bridge Street the oldest in town. In the 1850's a rather graceful Georgian cantilever staircase was added to her beautiful decor delivering relaxation to this lovely family townhouse from your footstep entry until your departure. The Granary Guest House aims are simple. We provide customer service of excellence while maintaining guest privacy. Provide a relaxed enviroment for all who stay. Serve the finest breakfast imaginable using locally sourced/organic ingredients. Altogether a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granary Guest House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granary Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.