We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 North Bank, Belford NE70 7LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Belford B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Old Vic for 5 nights in August and used it as a base to explore the Northumbrian coast, with a day trip to Edinburgh thrown in. Annette & Keith were so friendly and welcoming, they really made me feel at home and made my holiday.

The building itself has been restored with period features and is full of character and history. The shelves brimming with old books and family photos give it a real homely feeling. I stayed in the Armoury, a twin room with bathroom next door. The old (original) Victorian bath was a treat, and made me feel like I was really on holiday - I really didn't miss having a shower!

Breakfasts were a real treat every morning, with an extensive choice and all cooked fresh to order, including some of Annette's own creations. Over the course of the 5 days I tried most of them and they were all yummy!

There were so many little touches that made this the best B&B stay I've had in a number of years. From the fresh milk in a little fridge in the room, to the jar of cookies, to the complementary sherry and mead, to the comfort and homeliness of the sitting room. All in all, I heartily recommend The Old Vic if you're in the area, whether it be for one night or an extended stay - I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We unfortunately only stayed one night at the Old Vicarage , we really wished we could have stayed a lot longer! From the welcome to the farewell Annette and Keith, the owners, are very personable and have truly thought of everthing to make your stay with them, relaxing, comfortable and friendly without being intrusive. Belford is in a small village just off the A1 fairly easy to find and near to many local attractions. The room we had was outstanding well furnished and immaculate with so many small finishing touches I can't list them all! We absolutely loved the welcome Sherry/Mead complementary drink, what a fab idea. The breakfast was a delight, all local sourced produce and it was delicious. This B&B is a truly unique find - the best kept secret that we would recommend escaping to anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
What a fantastic review!! Thank you so much for all the positive comments. It is really lovely to know that guests have enjoyed their stay and that we are on the right path for making everything as good as possible for a relaxing visit. We are constantly thinking of ways to improve our service so if you can think of anything that we could do to make things better then please let us know. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and were always greeted by Annette or Keith. An excellent place to rest up when touring and exploring the area. It was so peaceful with a lovely cottage garden to enjoy along with a glass of sherry or local mead. The rooms are so comfortable and beautifully clean with everything you could wish for to make your stay special. Freshly squeezed juice and lots of delicious choices made the breakfasts into breakfeasts! I would fully recommend a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I spent the night here with my daughter while we were walking the Northumberland Coastal Path. It's in a beautiful setting and the welcome we received was delightful. Room was lovely, bed extremely comfortable and delicious breakfast. We also got a lovely packed lunch to take with us on our walk. I highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Once again we have had a wonderful stay at The Old Vicarage. Annette and Keith put in a huge effort to make their guests welcome in their lovely home. The breakfasts are awesome (no wonder they've won an award) the bedrooms are delightful and the bath itself is worth travelling 170 miles for!!
This b and b is a hidden gem and if you haven't already visited you are missing a treat.
Just do it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is always lovely when guests return year after year and in doing so, become really good friends as well. Thank you for such a wonderful review and taking the time to write it. We hope to see you both many more times in the future at The Old Vicarage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed again at The Old Vicarage for one night as part of our Northumberland Coastal Path Walk. Once again the service, room and welcome by our hostess Anette was excellent. What more can we say? We cannot recommend this B and B enough, simply wonderful!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful. If you are a vegetarian we can recommend the vegetarian pot breakfast- del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
It was great to see both of you again and doing the same long distance walk as last year too! That must be a fantastic recommendation for this lovely part of the world we live in. So glad you liked The Old Vic Vegetarian Pot. Thank you for your kind words - again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

'The Old Vicarage' is an old favourite of my father's and he has been coming back here for many years now on his visits to Northumberland. Having stayed here with him in March I can see why! The location is excellent for visits to Lindisfarne, Bamburgh or inland. The rooms are cosy and best of all, Annette and Keith made us feel very welcome -as if we were family, topped off with a fantastic breakfast. Thank you Annette and Keith for your hospitality - we really appreciated it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to see you and your father, who we now regard as a very dear friend who has been visiting us for many years now. Hopefully you and your wife will carry on the tradition!! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 North Bank, Belford NE70 7LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast Belford, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.