We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much, much better than it looked on first sight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Purdy Lodge to your Saves list
Purdy Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
2 Night Winter Offer £99
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
leeds
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Much, much better than it looked on first sight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a two night stay at the Purdy on a KGB deal and I have to say that as we approached from the South my heart sank - the first sight you get is a truck stop with traditional bumpy parking area and a somewhat windswept petrol forecourt. No need to worry though as the lodge itself has a nice tidy car park and looked very nice from the outside. Inside we were greeted by a very nice lady on Reception. She said our room wasn't quite ready and while we did the paperwork she regaled with tales of lambing time and where best to buy ice cream in Seahouses (these things are important).
By which time our room was ready.
Bright and very clean, nothing fancy but plenty of room for a couple of nights. Now I did think that as the front of the hotel is only about ten yards from the A1 we'd be plagued with traffic noise but the rooms face to the rear and even with the window open it was very quiet. From the room we had a view over a field of wheat to the sea some five miles away with an added bonus of a resident hare that was often to be seen skipping around between the rows.
Dinner was very good. Plenty of choice well presented and served. We had a bottle of house merlot and that was very good and at a sensible price.
Breakfasts followed the pattern, plenty of choice and cooked to order.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we get to meet you again in the future (and that you enjoyed your ice cream!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    86
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
55
123
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed for two nights (fri and sat), and it couldn't have been better. From the young lady booking us in, to the bar staff and waitresses. The exterior of the hotel was really nice, despite the main road position. All the rooms have a view overlooking Bamburgh Castle, and the surrounding countryside. Stay was perfect from start to finish, and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are all really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would happily return. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stopped for one night as at a wedding nearby . Very clean and tidy hotel with excellent staff. Very close to all Northumberland has to offer. Room had modern ensuite and flat screen tv with excellent views out towards Bamburgh Castle. Hotel has bar /diner and restaurant . Thing that impressed me most in this hotel was the staff. All friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Would use hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We take pride in our customer service and are always pleased to read that a customer has enjoyed themselves. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again in the future; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co-Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We used this hotel as an over night stay, as we were going on a ghost tour at Chillingham castle.Staff friendly and welcoming. Rooms comfy and clean. All linen and towels were fresh and clean. Would happily stay here again, if I needed an over night stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff members. We are glad that you would stay again and hope to see you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

After a long trip, to do 2no site inspections, in Edinburgh. I had pre-booked a room at The Purdy Lodge, as it was a handy place to stay, approximately 1/3rd of the way home. I was welcomed by a lovely, bubbly Geordie lass, who, as it turns up was receptionist, waitress and bartender, all rolled into one. A role which she seemed really to enjoy. Check in was quick and professional, I was give my key and directions to my room. The room was spotlessly clean, so too the bathroom, plenty of tea and coffee materials, and the bathroom also had a good stock of shampoo and shower gel.
I had my evening meal in the restaurant, this consisted of a large bowl of home made mushroom soup, followed by a delicious lamb shank, with all the trimmings, alas this did not leave any room for a pudding. The only slight snag was with breakfast, The Full English, looked great, but everything was tepid, and served on a cold plate.
Such a shame, to spoil a very pleasant stay, with such a small detail.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the rear of the block, away from the A1, so no need to worry about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will take on board your comment about the breakfast plates not being hot enough to try and stop this from happening again. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just enjoyed a 2 night break at Purdy Lodge Hotel. The hotel is situated right at the side of the A1, beside a garage. It looks nothing from the outside but the rooms and the dining area are nice enough. We had 2 rooms and both were well furnished with good quality fittings and bedding, also nice and clean. We had dinner one night which was average, the breakfasts were ok.

The hotel is very conveniently placed for nipping up and down the A1 to Alnwick, Seahouses etc. It is not convenient if you wish to walk to a restaurant or a pub, there is nothing round it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review following your stay at the hotel. We appreciate all reviews that our guests leave us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here through work for 3 days very clean good food available 24/7 good location for lindersfarne pleasant sea views from bedroom windows.would recomend this hotel a great stopoff hotel or short stay in a lovely part of country

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the food that you had whilst you were here. We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.