We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beacons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outchester and Ross Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outchester and Ross Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   c/o The Farmhouse | Outchester and Ross, Belford NE70 7EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Loughborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Beacons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our first visit to Northumberland - why have we not been before? The Beacons Cottage was perfect - very well equipped, comfortable, well maintained, a beautiful garden and a good location and perfect peace. The scenery around the area is stunning and plenty of wildlife to be seen. All in all a perfect holiday and the weather was good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your holiday at The Beacons. We're so pleased you enjoyed visiting Northumberland and found our cottage perfect. Great that you liked the garden too! Do make a return visit any time and we hope you enjoy the rest of the summer. Best wishes Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
didcot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing and a very warm and homely cottage, with all the necessary facilities that you require for a tranquil stress-free retreat. Extremely prompt service if anything is required from Mr & Mrs Sullivan and their staff. If you want a break away from the stresses and strains of everyday life, go to West Coastguard Cottage, for a break in a million. Expect varied weather but wonderful wildlife and magnificent views / beaches and countryside retreats. Fabulous food in a variety of local venues. Just chill out for a week or two and you will definitely feel the benefits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Suzie
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of West Coastguard Cottage and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing, stress-free and chilled-out week - wonderful! Also good to know that local food is tasty. The coastline is looking beautiful here today. Many thanks again, enjoy the summer and come back again for chill-out time anytime you fancy!
Kind regards
Kate
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at the cottages at Ross Farm every year for nearly a decade and we are never disappointed. This year, we really needed the break and found all the improvements in the cottage a wonderful surprise. The location is perfect for people who enjoy breathtaking scenery, watching wildlife and complete peace and quiet. Our son loves the walk to and from the beach, so much easier now he's 7 and can do it easily. We made it to the beach virtually every day finding the evenings particularly lovely. The farm owners have always helped us when any problems have arisen but this stay was completely trouble free. Thank you so much for being such a big part of our family lives, we can't imagine a year without a visit.

Room Tip: The Coastguard Lodge and cottages are closer to the beach, particularly handy when you're coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Christine
We're so pleased you had a relaxing peaceful break at Coastguard Lodge and also that you liked all the refurbishments. Lovely to hear that you made it to the beach nearly every day with your little boy. We are particularly fond of Coastguard Lodge so it's nice to hear that you find it special too. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Kind regards
Kate
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a week at Oystercatcher Cottage, our first week at Ross after three previous stays at Outchester. We have never been disappointed either with the cottage or the location and this proved to be equally true at Oystercatcher. The simplest thing to say is that these cottages are like a home away from home. They are spacious, well planned and equipped and bright as a new pin. And so comfortable to come back to after long coastal walks.
We appreciated the warm welcome from David and conversations during the week. Oh and the bottle of wine was extremely welcome! I love the selection of books in each of the properties and spend lots of time browsing through them. Ross Cottages have become a family tradition and our friends and relatives who have visited us while there have all been equally impressed. We are already planning our fifth visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Fenwick74
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Oystercatcher Cottage at Ross. Oystercatcher has just been refurbished over the winter so we're particularly pleased to hear that you found it bright, clean and lovely to return to after a long coastal walk. Great to hear that David was a hit and that you enjoy the books too. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit soon. Hope you're enjoying the good weather this week.
Kind regards
Kate
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thoroughly unique accommodation with all the mod cons you'd expect from a 5 star property. We absolutely loved our stay in the Ducket and found it the perfect base for exploring this part of Northumberland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear titch22 - thank you for your kind words about your stay in The Ducket. Much appreciated. We're pleased you enjoyed your time here.
Kind regards
Kate
c/o Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked a week’s stay in the Ducket as a surprise 40th Birthday holiday for my wife. We had a fantastic week visiting the local tourist attractions, and the highlight was the fabulous Ducket with its five star rating and stunning views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Brenden
Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Ducket. What a lovely surprise for your wife. We're delighted you had such a wonderful time in Northumberland and found your stay at The Ducket to be the highlight! There are so many different things to do in the area - castles to visit, Holy Island, boat trips to the Farne Islands, but we often find people just want to stay in situ and enjoy the views and the peace. Many thanks again.
Kind regards
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recently, my wife and I with 3 friends spent between 1 and 3 nights in Oystercatcher. The cottage has recently benefitted from the rolling refurbishment and is extremely comfortable and well equipped, by any standard. I am partially disabled but found it easy to move around the cottage, particularly getting in and out of the step-free shower. The only problem was with the 3 different levers which got hot/cold water and rose or wand, but only because I cannot read instructions without glasses which do not need a shower! So I had to get out, put on my glasses, read the instructions and then take the glasses off. This was only on the first morning's shower. The TV system works well, with a box in each bedroom and the lounge. Faults are very few and only niggles. we found it hard to adjust the time on the cooker's clock - but reading the instructions helps! We didn't bring computers but our mobile phones got signals, so there is no reason to doubt the efficiency of the wireless system. So, all in all, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Even the weather behaved, mostly.

Room Tip: Downstairs is best for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for posting your remarks on Oystercatcher Cottage on this site and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, found the cottage comfortable and appreciated the improvements.

Only one of our cottages is actually officially designated for people with mobility problems and that is Eiderduck Cottage, which carries a M1accreditation. However I'm pleased that you didn't encounter any difficulties getting about inside Oystercatcher Cottage and many thanks for reporting back on the good Wi Fi signal too.

Not sure if we can move the shower instructions to outside of the shower, but we will look into this.

Enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outchester and Ross Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outchester and Ross Cottages

Address: c/o The Farmhouse | Outchester and Ross, Belford NE70 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outchester and Ross Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ducket at Outchester overlooking Holy Island is the North East's most unique and romantic holiday accommodation. It's a five star, beautifully restored 18th century stone tower now offering 21st century comfort for two. Five round rooms on five floors becoming smaller as you reach the top, connected by a hand crafted spiral staircase. Set in its own grounds with magnificent views of the sea and the countryside. Ground source heating and free wifi. The perfect place for a romantic break. The owners of the Ducket also offer a choice of 17 lovely, warm, 4* cottages in two rural locations close to Holy Island, Bamburgh and Northumberland coastline. Cottages sleep 2, 4 or 6. Some cottages are walking distance to Ross Sands - a beautiful 3 mile stretch of sand with views of Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island. Play area close to cottages and each cottage is superbly equipped with its own private garden. Cots and highchairs provided at no extra charge. We are also on Facebook and Twitter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outchester And Ross Cottages Belford, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outchester and Ross Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Outchester and Ross Cottages to your Saves list