We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the journey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Bell Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Bell Hotel
Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Belford B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We bought the over night B&B voucher for £29 for the Blue Bell Hotel which was a Bargain. Although it cost £70 in fuel for the round trip we still loved the experience. The hotel is very old but clean with friendly staff and the breakfast was great. It's a few minutes drive from Lindisfarne and the east coast road north that passes all the castles etc. We would go again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    34
    16
    10
See reviews for
28
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria uk
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

One hiccup does not make for a poor stay! We had upgraded in order to get 2 nights together before our deal ran out - this meant we got the four poster! We arrived early but the room was ready, warm and cosy on a bitter cold Saturday, lovely fire in the bar downstairs and after a short explore we returned to find a mixed crowd enjoying the England Rugby win. Locals were very friendly and we enjoyed our evening including dinner in the restaurant. (tho Whitebait too salty for our taste !) Breakfast was fine, cooked to order which is always a nice find these days. It was on our return on Sunday that the hiccup happened! We had a drink before going to get ready for dinner, then went upstairs to wash and change - our lovely cosy room had been replaced by a fridge !! However soon sorted after a word with the evening staff (Manager?) Only problem was the heating was put back on, but never switched off at bedtime so a very hot room by morning ! Impacted on our stay but certainly would not put us off going again "if the price was right" !

Room Tip: Room 1 has the 4poster but you pay £10 per night for the privilege!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had one night stay at the Blue Bell, Excellent location for touring Northumberland Coast. The hotel is clean and comfortable, nice and warm, very cosy. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Good atmosphere in the bar with both locals and visitors. Would go here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed on the KGB deal, was informed that we would be in the annex, I did ask if there were rooms in the main hotel available, but was told the annex rooms had just been refurbished and were at a better standard than the main hotel rooms. They might have been newly refurbished, but they seem to have forgotten the heating. There was no heating at all in the bathroom, coupled with the tile floor, this made it very uncomfortable to use. There was a radiator in our room but the heating went off at 10pm, the room had been supplied with a battered plug-in heater, giving us some hope, however this packed in shortly after we switched it on. On leaving,the receptionist didn't even bother asking us how our stay was. We spend a lot of time in Northumberland, there are many very comfortable B&B's who put a lot of effort into making your stay comfortable and we will be sticking to these in future.

Room Tip: Don't accept an annex room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a living social deal recently and have to say was very average, hotel room was clean and what you would expect for what we paid. But with regards to service in restaurant wasn't impressed we were served our starter before we had drinks brought, the starter was melted cheese bites which were cold in the centre and had to be sent back. Main course was nice but l not once asked if we were enjoying this or would you like any more drinks etc, £7 each for starter and £12 for main wasn't too bad and got a bottle of wine in with the deal which was ok. Limited options for breakfast and voucher stated breakfast included but when arrived was told this was continental only which consisted of a choice of a few cereals and juices paid the £5 extra for cooked breakfast but again disappointed due to how small it was. Can't say I would return or even recommend and rare I say that as usually find something to be pleased about if not hotel the food and service or vice versa. Hotel reception lady was friendly and helpful and village close to other pubs shops golf and close to A1 so handy to stop off along the way and close to Alnwick castle, holy island etc.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a three day B&B break here in Feb 2013 which was a birthday present from our son.Hotel was ideal for touring the area only 6 miles from Banburgh and 12 from Alnwick.The room was the warmest that we have ever had in any hotel and was appreciated due to the cold weather.This theme continued in the bar with a roaring fire and friendly locals which made it a very cosy place to have a drink.We had a nicely cooked 2 course meal in the bar with a bottle of wine free becuse of the deal we were on.Overall we had a very nice stay and would return again.

Room Tip: Our room at the front had a view of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaton sluice
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent value for money on a Living Social deal , hotel very clean, cosy bar have stayed several times over the years. Food all fresh and home produce fantastic breakfasts sausage to die for.Yes it is a little tired but its a very old hotel excellent location for Bamburgh, farne islands and coastal heritage. Night we stayed Friday steak night two excellent meals with large glasses of wine for £20.00 staff and service excellent, room very warm and comfortable attention needs to be given to the bath panel in room 9 needs replacing apart from that would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.