We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beadnell Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beadnell Towers to your Saves list
Beadnell Towers
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

my husband and i stayed for one night over valentines and i honestly cannot gripe at all about anything.We were greeted by the owner(male) who seemed very pleasant and when i mentioned that we were looking forward to a roaring log fire while enjoying our meal thats exactly what we got,when we came down for dinner he had reserved us a table right in front of the fire without us even asking for it. We had a premium room at the front and all the little extras were faultless and the bathroom was huge,yes there was a slight problem with the hot water but nothing major really and on speaking to the other owner on checkout(lady) she put us clear about how they were trying to get it fixed and that they had only been there 18months and had a lot to do to the place and the difficulties regarding it being such an old building.Oh my god the food was delicious many compliments to the chef and the desserts were to die for.The beach was fab and valentines morning strolling along the long stretch of white sand in the sunshine topped it off.

  • Liked — room,food and location
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    73
    16
    14
    4
See reviews for
40
106
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North East
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

My boyfriend booked a weekend break at this hotel, as a romantic getaway for my birthday. First impressions were good, as the hotel seemed quite quirky but nice. We stayed in room 1, which was large and nicely furnished. The bathroom was spacious but the shower was awful! Almost impossible to rinse your hair with the slight trickle of water.

The food was fantastic on the first night, when we ate in the residents lounge, although as mentioned elsewhere, it was overly lit and a log fire would have been lovely. The breakfasts were nice, with a good selection. My boyfriend proposed on the Saturday, which was fantastic, and as a result our meal on Saturday night should have been a real celebration, although this was not quite the case due to the staff at the hotel (I think it was actually the owner - the majority of the staff were lovely). When we went down for dinner, we had a drink at the bar first and during that time, the staff used our table in the residents lounge (although they had clearly used tables in there for non-residents, which I felt was a bit poor, when this resulted in taking a table from the residents) and as a result we had to eat in the bar. This would not have been too bad, if we weren't sat right next to the bar, so during our meal more and more of the locals came in to drink and we ended up having people standing surrounding our table. In addition, they were quite loud and the conversation was quite interesting! Obviously we didn't begrudge the locals a drink, but it ruined out romantic engagement/ birthday meal somewhat! In addition, the food that night was good, but not as good as the previous evening.

My partner later told me that he had rang the hotel in advance, enquiring if they could put together somekind of picnic for the Saturday as a surprise for me - he was spoken to quite rudely as if this was a ridiculous request, which obviously gave a bit of a poor first impression.

All in all a mixed response - there were some lovely parts to the stay, however it was tainted slighty by the owners attitude them not ensuring a suitable table for residents who had booked.

  • Liked — location and style of the hotel
  • Disliked — lack of concern from staff about giving their guests the best possible stay
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

Having never been to the northumberland Area we were attracted to the hotel due to its close proximity to the coast . We booked bed and breakfast for the days that we we were there and were very pleased that we did as the food was excellent and there were few places around where we could have eaten out . The area itself was very rural and spread out and not commercialised . If you are looking for peace and quiet and plenty of country type walks then this is ideal. We were very fortunate with the weather as it was sunny but cold and there would have been little to do if it had been raining . We found Berwick a bit dissapointing but Lindisfarne was lovely as was Alnick gardens - well worth a visit . The beach at Beadnell itself is best approached from the car park area as this gives the best first impression .
The hotel appears to be quite dark inside as you enter into the main reception and is quite a mixture of styles with no particular theme which perhaps might not be to the taste of some as it was quite quirky . The bedroom however was spacious and clean and the little touches in the bathroom were much appreciated . As the rooms were large it did get quite cold in the evenings and it wasn't as cosy as perhaps it could have been . The shower area was also very small - even for a woman and this was a shame as there was plenty of space to have put in a larger shower tray.- something that would have improved the bathroom space 100%
We found the people very friendly especially the waitresses . The menu was very good with an excellent variety of choice and the whole stay was very good value for money .

  • Liked — The food was excellent and made the hotel
  • Disliked — to be truthful the decor which was neither one thing or another . Lighter paint and more quality accessories would make a big difference
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Just spent two nights at The Beadnell Towers, and overall it was very good. The room was big, the bed comfy, it was lovely and warm,
and the bathroom was nice. It was all very clean, if a little tatty around the edges! The knickknacks are a bit eclectic, but at least it has some character! There were no roaring log fires, which I was disappointed by, and the lounge/dining area was a bit overlit (definately not romantic!), but the food was beautiful, breakfast and dinner. Staff were very friendly but not obtrusive. Would recommend.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — bit tatty
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

A nice destination for a romantic getaway ... but make sure you don't get stuck with the room above the kitchen.
The industrial strength fan started vibrating the room at about 6.30pm and when we we complained, we were told it would be shut off at 9.30pm.
At 10.15pm, we were sitting on the bed giggling at situation: the kitchen staff singing, the fan whirring and the clattering about around the bin.
The whole thing started again at 6.30am the next morning, and the room also filled with the stench of frying meat.
A real shame as the hotel and staff were lovely :(

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise/smell in the room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

I stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in August 07 with my mother. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the food was delicious. We booked the dinner bed and breakfast which is excellent value for money. The restaurant was very popular and full of local people, which in itself is a great recommendation.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Seven of us stayed here for 3 nights while playing golf at the excellent surrounding courses on a half board basis.

The rooms were clean, well cared for and comfortable. Coffee and tea facilities were in each room. The bathrooms were in good condition but the showers were very weak and not really useable.

The restaurant is excellent value and the food very good with a local flavour eg Craster kippers for breakfast, loaclly made sausages etc. The restaurant adjoins the bar and is a friendly family run pub restaurant. The bar has the feel of a local pub and is clearly popular with locals. The atmosphere was very friendly and we spent a lot of the evening playing pool.

This is a lovely base and I would stay there again. greart value great food.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — showers
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beadnell Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beadnell Towers

Address: The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beadnell Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beadnell Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beadnell Towers Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beadnell Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.