We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of comfort and peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering to your Saves list
Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Low Dover House, 138 Harbour Rd, Beadnell NE67 5BJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A haven of comfort and peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Its the first time we have stayed in a B & B we were going to a wedding at Newton Hall so decided to make it a few days break, we were so surprised even though we had read reviews it was more than we could have hoped for it certainly lived up to its 5 star rating, anything you could need you were supplied with even down to personal toiletries. kath and bob were great so warm and friendly, I would recommend this B&B very highly but don't diet while there as the breakfast was fantastic and the choice amazing . this place put a lot of big hotels to shame as I have titled my review it was a haven of comfort and peace, loved it.

Room Tip: Only 2 B&B rooms but self catering apartment and caravan in the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We get many guests who are going to weddings in the area. We also get many honeymoon couples too.
We look forward to your next visit, soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As a group of four we took both rooms in the B&B. This was a perfect venue with Kath and Bob being excellent hosts, and making us feel so welcome. They shared their local knowledge to ensure that we made the most of our stay. The rooms were immaculate and well equipped with plenty of space to enjoy them (when you aren't out enjoying the beautiful locality). The guesthouse offers a plentiful variety of breakfasts which between us I think we tried them all and none disappointed. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It is so good to know that everything here was so enjoyable, and thank you for a great review. We look forward to you all staying again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knaresborough in yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just returned from our eighth stay in the Beadnell Beach apartment and have even booked for our next two stays next year!!!. Such a beautiful apartment and the position next to the beach is all anybody could wish for and to top it all Kath and Bob are such wonderfull hosts who are so welcoming but at the same time we were left to just chill out ourselves in such a great setting. The apartment is in a lovely setting and so clean and well equipped that we didn't want for anything and even got some great weather.
We think to come back year on year says it all and can only say it is the best!! and cant wait for our next visit so thanks again Bob and Kath.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for yet another brilliant review, that says it all.
We are so lucky to have so many guests like yourselves that keep coming back and back each year, and then whilst staying, book for next year. We are just ecstatic about that. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our second visit, the first being 3 years ago. We were so impressed then that we determined to come back and we were not disappointed. Kath and Bob are delightful hosts who make you feel completely welcome and at home while respecting your privacy. Having your own entrance and everything you could possibly require in the room and bathroom makes for the perfect stay. If you want a quiet location, beautiful beach, wildlife, big skies and top quality accommodation with magnificent breakfasts then this is the place. We will be back - again!

Room Tip: Both Lindisfarne and Dunstanburgh suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
It is always a total pleasure for us when guests revisit, and especially when their review is superb too. Thank you for all of your very kind remarks, you mentioned everything that is important to us. We also hope it is not very long till your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a fantastic stay over the August bank holiday….we just wish we could have stayed longer :( The room is very comfortable and private and the breakfasts are FANTASTIC. Kath & Bob have thought of EVERYTHING. All the toiletries that you could ever need and lots of little extras such as fresh milk and even a hot water bottle! They also have a wealth of local knowledge so make sure you get all their helpful hints and tips (such as good walks, views and even where the free parking is)!! We will definitely be back…..LOVE IT!!

Room Tip: Call Kath and Bob and book with them direct rather than booking online so they can talk to you about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for a marvellous review. It is so good to know that everything was just right for you. We too enjoyed your company, and yes, it would have been wonderful if you could have stayed longer than 3 nights, hopefully next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We couldn't fault our stay at Beadnell Beach which was only for two nights but we would have been happy to stay for a week. With welcoming hosts Bob and Kath, scrupulously clean and well equipped rooms and comfortable beds, every effort has been made to make sure guests are comfortable. Everything necessary has been provided that are so often missing in other B&Bs such as a mini fridge, luggage rack, sherry (!!), chocolates and biscuits, coffee and tea making facitilies, iron, ironing board and hairdryer to name but a few, and Kath put my cold packs in her freezer (my cool bag necessary after visits to farm shops). We loved the fact that the beach and tiny harbour were on the doorstep! We bought the best ever fish and chips from nearby High Newton as recommended and ate them on the little promontory by the B&B. We will certainly be returning. NB For people wishing to book it is strongly advised that they do this over the phone rather than via a website - just as secure and you get to talk to the hosts before you visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Marvellous, thank you for a wonderful review and for all of your fabulous comments. We really appreciate everything that you have said, and look forward to you staying again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a trip of firsts for us. We had never been to Northumberland and we had never stayed in a B and B. We read the glowing reviews of Beadnell Beach Guesthouse on trip advisor and went ahead and booked our 3 night stay and we were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome from our hosts Bob and Kath and shown to the Lindisfarne suite. The suite has its own entrance so no need to disturb anyone whilst coming and going. The room is large with an extremely comfy double bed and a single, two comfy chairs and foot stools, a flat screen TV and small fridge which had fresh milk in it every morning for your cuppa, which was a lovely touch. An ensuite shower room with everything you would need. The room is really a home from home. Breakfast was very good and was chosen on a tick list the day before. The full fry is recommended!!! The location is stunning, a few footsteps from Beadnell bay, a large expanse of golden sand. There are stunning coastal walks from the bay. Bob and Kath are very knowledgable with the area as they have lived there over 20 years, and were happy to help us with our plans of where to visit and where to eat. Bob is happy to share his knowledge of the history of the area and the "breakfast banter" was fun each morning. Bob said to us when we arrived that once you visit the area you will want to go back. We are already planning our return. If you are looking for a stunning location that is as peaceful as it is beautiful then this is it. Bob and Kath thank you for looking after us so well, you have a little gem there and if you ever want to sell up please let us know!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowdover, Owner at Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank for such a wonderful and full review of all aspects of your stay. We just love it when guests love it here so much. We just know that you will revisit sometime, and we look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering

Address: Low Dover House, 138 Harbour Rd, Beadnell NE67 5BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOLD Awarded....The Perfect Location….On The Beach….Virtually encompassed by the sea, situated at the end of a tiny peninsula at Beadnell, on the North Northumberland Heritage coast. Direct access to beach. It is a perfect seaside location to explore this unspoiled North East region. Choose from three styles of ground floor, 5 STAR GOLD Bed & Breakfast and Self Catering accommodation. Each immaculate suite is furnished to exceptional standards. Each suite has a private entrance with furnished patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beadnell Beach Guesthouse And Self Catering Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beadnell Beach Guesthouse and Self Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.