We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunningdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sunningdale to your Saves list
The Sunningdale
21 - 23 Lucker Rd, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Friendly, attentive, staff who provided us with a warm welcome every time we saw them.
Room was clean, comfy, had enough storage and space and had a lovely shower.
Restaurant was cosy with the fire, food was home cooked and delicious! Didn't need to eat anywhere else, as it was very reasonably priced too!
Would recommend to anybody! Cheap and cheerful. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I am accustomed to traveling. The staff was extremely courteous, room spotless, fullenglish or continental breakfast was a nice surprise with all the options availalbe. we will be definatly be using this hotel when I come to visit my son in sea houses.

thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Sunningdale again and now wont go anywhere else in th North East.
its walking distance to the beach. great food, clean room and fantastic food.
The quiet area and helpfull staff had our stay a fantastic experiance
we will be coming again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second visit to The Sunningdale and we have returned once again very satisfied.
Since our visit in 2012 the hotel has been treated to a very nice makeover. The room we stayed in had recently been decorated and furnished to perfection, a lot of thought and money obviously been invested. I did report on our way out one day that the shower seemed to be dripping. This problem had been put right by the time we had returned from our day trip.
Staff once again made us feel part of the family I must say that Sandra & Katie were superb these girls are a real credit to Paul and the rest of the team (they deserve a pay rise for the service they provided ;-) )
In a nutshell very good value for money, great location, great staff and the main thing is they made me and my family very welcome.
One last thing which applies to all hotels IF YOU HAVE AN ISSUE WITH ANYTHING IN YOUR ROOM THEN REPORT IT, BECAUSE IF THEY DON'T KNOW ABOUT IT THEY CAN'T PUT IT RIGHT...Just hate reading about people moaning about issues they didn't report. If you report it and it doesn't get dealt with then yes tell us about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we have been coming to this hotel for a good while now and would not think of going anywhere else. The owners and staff are so welcoming and make you feel at home. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed for DBB, and i would just like to stress that the food in the restaurant is second to none. It is all home cooked and very fresh, excellent. If anyone is booked in for BB book at table in the restaurant for evening meal in the warmth by the coal fire, you will not be disappointed. Paul the owner is an excellent chef, and makes every dish to order which is fresh and piping hot. Once you have eaten in this restaurant you will not want to eat anywhere else. Try for yourself.
Thank you Clair and Paul, once again for a perfect time
Carol and Joe

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor premier room with the conservatory, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Northumberland Coast is stunning and this B&B is in a great location in the village of Bamburgh, complete with castle, beautiful beach, lots of restaurants and a wonderful pub.
The Sunningdale is good value and perfectly adequate as a base. We went in February so there was a bit of an off-season feel to the place, which is understandable I guess.
We stayed in a 'superior room', which was a standard B&B room and good value for what it was, but couldn't work out what was 'superior' about it - for example there was plaster flaking off the wall.
Overall the Sunningdale didn't live up expectations raised by the website, but we had a lovely time in this special part of the world. It would have been fine if we'd turned up on spec but by raising expectations in this way on the website, it attracted and then slightly disappointed us.
We at in the restaurant the first night and the food itself was good but as it was off-season the place was empty and the dining room smelled a bit musty (despite the open fire) and was playing bad country and western music a bit too loudly. Again, there was nothing wrong with the food at all, so I don't want to be too harsh, but we found the other places we ate locally at locally a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The photos of this hotel are decieveing. The roaring fire was not lit even when it was snowing outside. Our room was basic. Clean but paper was coming off the wall and it was tired looking. Bathroom was too cold for my husband to shower. No heater in there. No bar unlike every other hotel/pub in the village which was very disapointing but location good and we ate and drank elsewhere. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly. Just a shame the fire wasnt lit in that cold weather and the room was so basic that without a bar, you were at a bit of a loose end as to what to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room as I believe some were being refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunningdale

Address: 21 - 23 Lucker Rd, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunningdale Hotel Bamburgh
Sunningdale Hotel Bamburgh
The Sunningdale Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunningdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.