We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bamburgh
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staff were very warm and friendly The room was small but clean and well furnished. The shower was excellent. The bar is reached via the hotel. The location is tremendous with views of the castle and the hotel is only minutes from one of the best beaches in the country. Breakfast was included; the service was quick and friendly. We had mugs of tea...always a bonus. The foos was well cooked and very tasty. We will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    70
    37
    17
    14
See reviews for
34
140
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Superb & very classy Renovation

I haven’t been here for a while and was stunned by my recent visit.
The room I stayed in has been refurbished again (seems like this is done every year).
The view from my room couldn’t have been bettered, stunning views of the castle.
But the biggest and most dramatic change is the new bar & restaurant.
Quite simply amazing. I really enjoyed the food the last time I stayed but it has propelled itself into a different class.
Beautiful & comfortable restaurant with superb service. The staff couldn’t have done more. I had the monkfish and it tasted like it had just been landed minutes earlier. So fresh and went superbly with a nice glass of wine.
On a separate note while I was at the bar a dog owner asked the bar staff to replace the water in the bowl provided in the new beer garden. The bar staff didn’t just fill the water up but thoroughly washed the bowl out and dried it before filling it up with fresh water and asked if there was anything else she could do.
Pub, Restaurant & hotel are all fantastic - 10 out of 10 on every level.
One very minor moan, not enough car parking.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We went for a friends birthday for sunday lunch as a party of 8. All our food was bought out at different times, some people were eating desert when others hadn't received their main, all our food was cold and inedible, one person never received her main meal. BUT by far the worst was the girl who's birthday it was, her roast chicken was completely raw throughout. It was so bad that she ended up having to make herself sick. The owner apologised, offered a full refund- but even gave us the wrong money back! Go to the mizen head- it's a different league.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were a group of golfing friends and stayed 1 night on 23 Aug. I had read some very poor reviews on Trip Advisor and was a bit nervous. They must have been written by someone with a grudge because the hotel was absolutely fine. Clean and newly refurbished rooms -some smaller than others but adequate. The bar was busy, bar food looked great, the beer and wine selection was fine and prices ok. The restaurant dinner was excellent and the breakfast equally fine. Staff friendly and helpful. No problems at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was not our first trip to the Lord Crewe, and despite some disappointments we will go back again in the future.

This is a great little hotel in a beautiful part of the world. The rooms are a good standard, the staff are great, usually fulfilling many roles, and the food good. The beer on tap is excellent, especially the Tyneside Blonde. The bar and restaurant are a good size. The lounge is comfortable and has free wifi for residents.

The rooms are cleaned daily by conscientious staff to a good standard. Breakfast is very nice and was served each morning by hard working people that were friendly and professional.

However it is not cheap and the service fell a bit short of our expectations. Most of our complaints revolve around the restaurant. On Sunday lunchtime I queued for twenty minutes at the bar, and ordered a cheese sandwich. It wasn't on the menu and it was a busy Sunday lunch, but how hard can it be? The bar staff took the order and I sat down with our drinks. 25 minutes later, the barman came and told me that 'the chef won't make' my sandwich. When challenged, all we could get in response was 'sorry!' After cooling off and returning, the lady on reception sorted out the sandwich in a few short minutes. There was absolutely no need to disappoint the customer.

Breakfast on our last morning was spoilt three ways. Firstly we were sat at a table on to which the restaurant door opened, meaning we were disturbed every time someone went through the door. Then the hoovering started just outside the door which was noisy. Finally, the cleaning of the lavatories started just off the restaurant. The smell of cleaning fluid was unpleasant. The restaurant is only open for breakfast for 90 minutes, surely these jobs could have waited.

On checking out, having paid for our meals each evening in the restaurant, it was disappointing to see the previous nights meal on the bill.

The majority of the staff really were great. Unfortunately they had to be. The hotel was full and this seemed to put all their processes under pressure and the staff had to compensate.

We will be back, and hope that things have improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I can't rate the hotel as only visited for a meal. I'd eaten at the Loed Crewe before it had been refurbished and had never been disappointed. I liked the simple but good menu and the traditional surrounding. Must admit that the new restaurant looks amazing and is up to date. I'm just not sure it is totally in keeping with Bamburgh. Also the food is now relatively expensive and the quality does not justify the price. With the competition I'd be surprised if the prices don't have to drop. If the prices stay high try the Mizen Head up the road

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate at The lord Crew in August,the hotel has recently been refurbished to a great standard but unfortunately the food in the restaurant was really awful, my wife had Monkfish which she left completely as the fish appeared to be undercooked and tasted terrible. I had the 12 hour stew which was just warm when served and had a very strange taste our 2 children had chicken nuggets and scampi with chips (lots of imagination going on here then) the nuggets were obviously frozen and processed and i was informed not as nice as a certain fast food outlet. We were really looking forward to our meal but this spoilt our night. This is a great shame because it is a lovely venue in a great location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bamburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Lord Crewe Hotel And Restaurant
Lord Crewe Arms Hotel Bamburgh
The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Crewe Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.