We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bamburgh yes Mizen no” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mizen Head Hotel
Save
You added Mizen Head Hotel to your Saves list
Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
LEEDS.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bamburgh yes Mizen no”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Bamburgh was beautiful with the beach and the castle 1st class however room 5 at the Mizen did not live up to the standard ,there was constant noise from the kitchen below at breakfast time and evening meal,we were promised on booking a a luxury room with a view towards Seahouses ,we did not get either.This is an over priced 2 star hotel and nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    38
    10
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
122
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had a very enjoyable one night stay here on the 28th July 2009, The room was very well appointed and comfortable, and there was no problem in bringing Gypsy the dog with us. In fact, we were advised to book one of the larger rooms as she is quite a big dog ang we would otherwise have been a bit pushed for space.
The food served in the bar made for a very nice lunch and dogs are allowed in there too without a quibble, although Gypsy was relegated to the car for our comfort not hers ! Snout in chips etc springs to mind !!
The only very minor minus point I would make are that for £110.00 a night (in the room we had) is that for that price you would expect nice fluffy Bath sheets, not the very thin,skimpy towels on offer. We're both slim, but they struggled to cover much ! Eeek !
or at least a bathrobe etc.
On the plus side the breakfast was enormous and very well presented, and the staff friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The welcome, room, location, food were excellent we will certainly return as soon as we can. On the minus side.... we intended to eat in on the Friday night with two friends, however, we were forced to go elsewhere because we could not bear the high decibel, constant shrieking from a small child who ran up and down and in and out of the bar are for nigh on 2 hours! Whilst I applaud her energy, I do think it went on a little too long. If my dog behaved as badly as that I would expect to be asked to leave. We later found out they were not tourists but locals and whilst it is commendable to have a 'family friendly' atmosphere it is a pity for the owner that it was at the expense of the £100+ we would have certainly spent on food and drink had we felt able (and our nerves would have stood it!) to stay. Other than that, we couldnt have been better looked after. In particular, the breakfast was sublime, and when we compare it to our recent experience in a 5 star London Hotel (which was three times the price!), I would say the Mizen Head can give them lessons.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I got married in Bamburgh on 20th Jun 2009 and decided to have our reception at The Mizen Head Hotel. We were certainly not disappointed! The owners, Cris & Ken, are a lovely, genuine couple who bent over backwards to accomodate our guests and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are all clean and beautifully decorated, the staff are always polite and friendly......and the band are incredible! It was the perfect way to celebrate our special day and we would recommend the venue to anybody. It'll certainly be our anniversary destination!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

My wife and I had two nights at the Mizen Head in June.
First the positives. The hotel is just as you enter the Bamburgh and is very handy for the local area as well as walks etc and has plenty of car parking accommodation to the front.
We booked a superior room that was of an ample size given the limited time you expect to spend in your room on a two night trip. There was a large comfortable bed as well as a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities as well as a shower but no bath. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was excellent if a little on the expensive side when you included a bottle of wine. Nevertheless it was of a high standard and excellent service from the guy behind the bar – more of him in a short while. The breakfast the following morning was first class and the full English would be a challenge even for those with a huge appetite. Lovely local sausages and the thickest bacon I have ever had in a hotel!! Note to self – need more exercise!
All in all I would say that the hotel ticks the right boxes and we were not disappointed and the staff are first class. Which brings me on the Scottish guy that served in the bar on the Sunday night. He was superb. A multi tasker that many other hotels would do well to watch him at work. He served behind the bar, took food orders, delivered the food and answered reception – oh and had time to chat and be friendly! And you never felt that you had been kept waiting. Employee of the year for him. The other members of staff were also very helpful and friendly.
A few gripes but they should not put you off. – The bedroom, despite two large windows, was quite dark as there was one main overhead light and just two low light level bedside table lamps – one on the dressing table would have been nice. The wash basin in the bathroom could do with a hand towel rail next to it as well as a bit more room to put shaving stuff on etc, as opposed to a small narrow glass shelf above the sink – a little too B and B style for a hotel. Last but not least, the house keeper allowed us to run out of toilet tissue with no spare one to be seen!! However, a quick call to reception sorted that out!!
These little niggles would not put me off and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

A wonderful part of the country, we really enjoyed exploring all the things to do.

The hotel was good and the food excellent but the Saturday night entertainment of 3 guitartsts until well after midnight was both unexpected and a real bonus.

A really welcoming and warm place made it a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

After our last unfortunate experience at the Bamburgh Castle Hotel, we were relieved to find the Mizen Head Hotel, with a very comfortable bedroom, superbly appointed bathroom, great food, friendly, courteous and helpful staff, and a great atmosphere. We even had entertainment in the form of R&B provided by the owner and some friends one evening. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mizen Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.