We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mizen Head Hotel
Save
You added Mizen Head Hotel to your Saves list
Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really liked this place and wished we could have stayed longer (we only managed one night). The building is lovely and the owners have really made an effort both with the quality of the accomodation and the great food in the restaurant. The room we had was lovely (although we were told it was going to be re vamped), the staff absolutely fantastic and the food to die for. A really great place to stay if you are a) in this part of the world and b) appreciate good food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    42
    10
    12
    9
See reviews for
35
130
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'd like to say the food was awful, the accommodation terrible and the staff ignorant. I'd like to say these things that way no one else would go here and I could have the place to myself! The opposite is true. Really helpful staff work their socks off, excellent seafood, lovely accommodation. My partner and I were made to feel very welcome. We came to this place 25 years ago and it was a dump; it became part of our family legend for worst meal ever. We noticed then all the fine potential for seafood and other local produce, but couldn't get it anywhere. What a transformation! Now Northumberland has a restaurant to be proud of. The only thing it lacks is a by the sea location, but that's only a short walk away and with good food and wine like this, who needs the rest. Damn good - we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

me and 3 female friends were on a walking holiday last week along the northumberland coastal path. The only wet day of our otherwise sunny trip and we turned up at this fabulous hotel looking like drowned rats with muddy boots. We couldn't have had a warmer welcome and were shown to the best rooms we stayed in all week - and by no means the most expensive either.

I turned up for dinner in my socks as my feet were so blistered i couldn't put my shoes on. Ronnie, the owner, nipped out to his car and came back with a pair of slippers for me. I was tempted to stick them in my rucksack the next morning but did leave them under the dressing table. Hope you found them Ronnie!

As everyone else has said here dinner was a proper treat for seafood lovers. I can't say i am generally a big seafood eater but i had the scallops, delicious, followed by lobster which was equally as good. I'm a convert...but worried that other places won't live up to my expectations now!

Ronnie, his son Alex and their team have really created a fantastic, welcoming place here since they took over. My friend had stayed a few years back and said this was a completely different experience.

Me...I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel one Saturday night in mid September. The rooms are good quality, well apointed and comfortable. The evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic, particularly if you like seafood which is a bit of a speciality of theirs. You get a warm welcome from the owner, Alex, and the service was first class - even on a fully booked Saturday evening. From the number of people that were turned away that night it is definetly best to book up in advance to avoid disappointment!

Bamburgh is a lovely, quaint Northumbrian village with it's village green and sports ground and also has the unbelievable backdrop of Bamburgh Caste. On a nice day - which it was when were there - there is no better place to be. If you are in the area, the Mizen Head hotel and restaurant is a must...........we are already planning our next stay at the hotel later on in the year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very well situated for Bamburgh Castle (5 min walk) and only a short drive from Holy Island, which were the main reasons for our stay there.

Although the building is essentially quite old, it has recently been extended and modernised, with no expense spared; it appears clean light and airy, with an excellent standard of decoration and maintenance.

Our room was of modest size, light and airy, with great views over the countryside and with an adequate, and very well appointed, en-suite bathroom with a walk in shower. The bed was really comfortable, and the room was just was we needed, though there was no comfortable chair (not really sufficient space).

Although facing the 'main' road, the room was really quiet as there is virtually no traffic to speak of at night.

The 'hotel' really is a restaurant with rooms, and as such there is not a guest lounge, bar the cocktail bar. There is also no room service, but this was not a limitation as far as we were concerned.

The restaurant is one of the best we have visited for a long time. Specialising in local fish (reasonable choice from the land also), dinner here was memorable, the food quality and quantity is nothing short of excellent, with friendly service etc.

The proprietor Alex Watson was always around to make sure everything was just as expected.

Bar prices and choice were sensible for a small hotel, with a very good selection of wines, many at more reasonable prices than is typically the case for a restaurant of this quality.

Unsurprisingly breakfast was also excellent, with all the English classics available. There was no continental choice, but this was not an issue for us.

Car parking in the hotel itself is a bit limited, but there is space on the road outside if need be.

This is not by any means a 'budget' hotel, but the value I judged to be pretty reasonable, both for the room, and for dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Managed to get the last table (didn't think we'd need to book on a Tuesday night) so glad we did!! Michael treated himself to the lobster, first time and loved it, so succulent, thoroughly recommend the scallops too-delicious!! I had turbot in the thermidore sauce to follow, absolutely divine. You could definitely tell we were by the coast, the fish was so fresh. All followed up with yummy sticky toffee pudding!!! Just the one problem......is too far from home for us to make it a regular haunt!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beadnell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have dined at the Mizen Head Restaurant on several occasions and have thoroughly enjoyed each meal. We would recommend booking well in advance as it can be quite busy. The menu has a good balance of excellent sea food and traditional steak options. The Lobster Thermidor was magnificent and the sea bass equally tasteful. Although there were no "Moules" available on the menu due to being out of season there is usually a comprehensive range of dressings and flavours. Not to be missed.
Excellent selection of wine and very relaxing surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mizen Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.