We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - friendly staff - fantastic breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Bamburgh
pontefract
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel - friendly staff - fantastic breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were given Room 10 on arrival, which we were told was a superior room. It would have cost £140 per night, but we were offered it for £120 over the phone. We were extremely disappointed as it hadn't been refurbished. The wallpaper was patched, the skirting boards were chipped, the digital alarm clock looked as though it had been in a smoker's room for the last twenty years, it was dark, and although it had lots of floor space, it had an oppressive atmosphere. I asked to be moved to another room, and if one hadn't have been available we would have left. We were moved to room 41 (in the new extension, right at the top of the building) and it couldn't have been more different. It was contemporary and stylish. I've stayed in less luxurious 5* boutique hotels! The view was fantastic too. The full English breakfast which was included in the price was a bonus. We had a wonderful time and would most certainly stay there again - not room 10 though!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    143
    85
    57
    24
See reviews for
59
244
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I traveled here with my Mum to get away for a few days. Parking was great. You could park in the hotel car park a few yards from the hotel or park at the front of the hotel (spaces permitting).

We were welcomed and given our key to room 6 (this was a twin room and a bit of a small and dark room with the noise from some sort of cooling system right outside the window. It had n view and we did not want to stay in this for 4 nights.)

We went to the reception and asked to be changed. They only had a double so we took it! When we walked in we were amazed. It was room 41 and it was massive with 2 plush suede chairs, a leather chair, a big dresser, walk in wardrobe, plenty of draws and a big warm bathroom with huge shower! The bed was 4 poster and soooo comfy. The pillows were lush and the view was great. We could see the sea and all the little cottages.

The staff were friendly, the hotel food was out of this world and the village was gorgeous! it is perfect for visiting all the other local attractions such as Holy Island, Seahouses etc...

The beach is stunning and clean. get there early and you might just be the first person the beach! The castle is magnificent. Well worth a visit to the hotel and the village!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Recommend the family room (room 27) which is on the top floor of the hotel with views of village green. Two excellent big cumfy sofa beds for our boys. Clean and well equipped.

Bar meal was very good in the evening. Breakfast was adequate.

Location is excellent. Bamburgh really is a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I was apprehensive when I read the negative reviews about The Victoria Hotel but decided to give it a go anyway. I am very glad I did. We arrived to find the hotel at the very centre of the village, in an excellent situation and with plenty of parking, either on the road or in the hotel carpark.

Bamburgh is lovely, small but charming with quite a bit to see, for its size. The superb beach is an easy stroll from the hotel. The Grace Darling Museum, Memorial and grave are just down the road and there are some decent small shops too.

The hotel Brasserie is super, with many tasty dishes on offer. The bar menu was also good and there are plenty of eating options in Bamburgh and surrounding area. The Treehouse restaurant at Alnwick was an interesting setting with very tasty food.....and the castle and gardens were worth a visit.

We found the staff at the Victoria very pleasant and helpful, with some very friendly, chatty and warm folk amongst them. We stayed for 8 nights and were very happy with the service and attitude of those in charge. Our request for non-obvious breakfast choices was accommodated in a very friendly manner.

Our room was clean and smart with a very decent wall-mounted flat-screen telly, big bathtowels, plenty of hot water and a nice brand of toiletries. The bars can be boistrous when the footie is going well but there are plenty of rooms away from the hubbub.

If I was staying again, I'd ask for a castle-view room as I'd have loved to see the super sunrises over Bamburgh Castle.

This is not a corporate, ultra posh, high tech hotel but, if you need a cosy, family hotel with great food, a nice atmosphere and some really lovely, chatty people, this will do you nicely.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed at the Victoria Hotel for 12 nights and was very happy with the experience. The bed was comfortable, the en-suite bath was large with wonderful oversized towels. The wi-fi and ATM were additional conveniences. THe staff were helpful and friendly. I stayed at another local hotel for 2 nights prior to the Victoria Hotel, and the Victoria was definitely the better value and most comfortable setting for a single female traveller. I will stay there again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

the service was great food good staff good.
room 14 & 16 I would highly recomend
room 24 twin bit small but very clean
location perfect for quiet weeked
the public bar loud needs closing 12pm to genral public

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were prepared to be disappointed with the Victoria, having moved on from a truly superb hotel further south, but we weren't. Our three-night stay was thoroughly enjoyable.
Having selected the Victoria for it's dog-friendliness, we found our huge room was very clean and comfortable on arrival, and it was kept clean during our stay, too.
On 2 of our 3 nights we ate in the restaurant and had no complaints about the food, certainly not about its value having enjoyed the '2 x (good) steaks + 1 bottle of wine' deal on our last night. The tuna steak I had on the first night was seared to perfection - not often the case. The only minor complain we'd have about any of the food was that the hot food at the buffet breakfast tended to dry out a bit if you weren't there at the start of the serving.
We spent some enjoyable time in the bar where the selection of wines was perfectly adequate and also good value. It was slightly disappointing that the local ale wasn't fit during our stay, but, hey! what would you expect after a week of sultry, north-eastern weather. A good mixture of locals, residents and passing trade made for some interesting conversation and when that ran out, there was always Wimbledon on the telly. The staff were both friendly and efficient at all times.
All in all, an experience to be repeated - we'll be back (if you'll put up with the sandy black labrador again - sorry!)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle.In 2012 we see a new General Manager take the helm, delivering exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. 'Update'The hotel has just received 3 stars from the AA in April 2012. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bailey's restaurant that has just been awarded a Rosette form the AA in April 2012, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.