We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mizen Head Hotel

Mizen Head Hotel
Lucker Road, Bamburgh, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Bamburgh
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A new extension to an old hotel.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic seafood, great atmosphere and friendly efficient staff. If you love good seafood this is a must. We had a 5lb lobster thermidor between us, the best we have ever had. We found this gem towards the end of our week which was a pity as we would have eaten there more than once. They do rooms too so we are planning to stay there for a fews nights when we re-vist the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    84
    23
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We came here by chance on our last night in Bamburgh and wished we'd found it earlier. The menu is fab, tons of choice, and mostly fish and seafood dishes, although I think they do steaks too. I had singapore crab soup to start and moules marinieres as my main. Delicious and good value for fresh seafood.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Seven for Sunday lunch aged between 5 and 68 can be a big ask. We all ate from the set three course menu and found there was plenty of choice; with several interesting options along with the traditional roast beef and all the trimmings. The wine list was good too. Everyone was extremely happy with the food over the three courses, and the service was friendly. All in my party agreed we would come back to dine here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A three course meal with wine all well cooked and nicely presented. The wine list was pleasantly varied, the owner?/manager was informative about the food and wine and offered good explanations regarding the food and was also obviously passionate regarding the establishment which was great to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

During the course of a two week holiday in Bamburgh, we visited the Mizenhead twice - once for lunch and once for dinner. On both occasions the food was superb whilst service and general ambience were both very good. If you're a seafood lover, this will be the next best thing to paradise, but there are plenty of other good things on the menu. Some (but by no means all) of the staff had a slightly smug approach, but sadly that often seems to go with the territory of these more up-market establishments. We would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mizen Head Hotel also viewed

 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mizen Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.