We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter photography base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glororum Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glororum Farmhouse
Save
You added Glororum Farmhouse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Glororum, Bamburgh NE69 7AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great winter photography base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've just been for my second stay here, I came the same time last year both times for photography in the area. At this time of year the sunrise is quite accessible at 08.30 and the stunning Bamburgh and Dunstanburgh Castles are virtually on your doorstep from Glororum. Susan and David are very welcoming and accommodating to my slightly unsociable photography timings! I was given a key for the front door so popping in and out when I wanted wasn't an issue. Returning after 2 hours in the cold on the beach to an amazing breakfast and lovely warm fire is a real winter weekend treat. I can also strongly recommend the evening meals that are now on offer, lovely and very generously sized! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area - excellent welcome, house, food, fires and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights in October. My wife and I went with a friend. One of the reasons for choosing Glororum was that a single person pays just for themselves with no single supplement. We were surprised on arrival that the three of us had to share a bathroom, given the email specifically stated that each bedroom had its own private bathroom. This is not the case.
On the plus side, the breakfasts were great and Susan and David offer evening meals which were good value. The helpings were very generous in the extreme!
The rooms are clean, the location just a few minutes drive from the beach at Bamburgh, and it is quiet.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in August and the B&B was lovely. The location was great, very close to Bamburgh. The rooms are large and clean, as are the bathrooms. Susan and David were incredibly welcoming and helped to direct us around the local area. The breakfasts are huge and come highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

A terrific B&B in a superbly quiet location offering off road parking and much more. The owners offer a relaxed, informal and friendly environment. The rooms are spacious and although facilities are not en suite a bathroom can be reserved for exclusive use at a small extra cost. The breakfast is to be highly recommended and is of a consistently high standard with a good range of options. Take your appetite! The Wi-Fi works well and the bed was super comfy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the family suite (two rooms and a bathroom) which were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The house itself is very attractive, and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. Susan and David could not have been better hosts. Breakfast was delicious (although enormous - sadly I didn't have room for the homemade jam) and the chocolate fudge cake we came back to one afternoon was amazing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Whilst on a walking holiday (St Cutbert's Way) my wife and Iincluded a night's stay at Glororum Farmhouse. We were delighted with the warm welcome which we received from Sue and David Parmley. They were excellent hosts. We also had a wonderful evening meal which was beautifully presented and was truly wholesome fayre.

Our room was spacious, very clean and bright. We cannot adequately describe the high standatrd of hospitality which we received at Glororum Farmhouse and we hope to return whenevert we venture into this beautiful part of Northumbria.

John Gallagher

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stopped here as part of our Newcastle to Edinburgh Bike ride. It's a bit special; beautiful setting, lovely old house, tastefully decorated and with friendly, attentive hospitality from David and Susan. It's a short, pleasant walk from several nice pubs in Bamburgh. We'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glororum Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glororum Farmhouse

Address: Glororum, Bamburgh NE69 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Glororum Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glororum Farmhouse Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glororum Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.