We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waren House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waren House Hotel to your Saves list
Waren House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bamburgh NE70 7EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
grafter999
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed DBB on a valentines deal. Gorgeous location just a short distance from Bamburgh.

The room was cosy with the best shower ever.

The food - absolutely amazing service and amazing food!!!

We'll be back.

Gav, Julia and Alfie (dog)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
11
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel has a great location in beautiful and peaceful surroundings. It is quirky and eccentric and has great character. The food is excellent and very well presented. There are a few issues though. This is a highly rated and expensive place to stay and on that basis I expect service to match.....we stayed in the Rose suite during a very cold spell in February and heating is the least you would expect however despite complaining three times two of the heaters barely worked and the third in the bathroom didn't work at all. It was like living in an ice palace.The service was mixed with only one person on duty the day we arrived which reminded me of the film local hero.....receptionist, barman,waiter and for all I know cook. It is a shame that the service and rooms let this place down as the potential is there for this to be an excellent all round destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here again for a week. Having stayed on three previous occasions with very fond memories of the exceptional service, amazing food and typical local hospitality, we were not disappointed on this occasion. This is definitely a somewhat quirky hotel but what a refreshing change from the environment of "chain hotels".

At Waren House, you, as a guest, matter to all the staff and they go out of their way to ensure your stay is a memorable experience. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually styled. Each room is very different from another in theme and style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A charming and very comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant. Staff were friendly and welcoming and we loved our stay. The room was nicely decorated with a huge bed and wonderful views. Good location close to Bamburgh and Budle Bay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Waren House Hotel is a lovely country house hotel, set in one of the best locations in Northumberland. The Hotel has a warm welcoming family house feel to it. What we particularly liked was the food!! which was excellent with great variety and well presented as well as the very friendly staff, who made a genuine fuss over our dog. The location is next to Budle Bay and you can walk from the hotel onto the coastal paths and enjoy the amazing bird watching without using your car, but it is also very close to Bamburgh and the other coastal attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Waren House. It's location is very good. Good views, quiet location, well appointed and pleasant and friendly staff.

There were 4 of us in our party. My wife and I had a room on the top floor. Very spacious, nice views and pleasant decor (better than your chain hotels). Downside was that it was a dark room with insufficient lighting (although this is common in a lot of hotels these days in my opinion) and it didn't have a shower (hand shower only). We also found it annoying that there were no hooks in the bathroom to hang your clothes.

My in-laws had a lovely suite in one of the outside buildings. Very spacious and lovely decor - the lounge in particular was beautifully appointed. Downside according to them was the heating wasn't adequate to keep them warm enough (the outside temperatures went down to nearly 0c when we were there) and they didn't like the walk from their suite to the main hotel (bear in mind they are in their eighties - I can't comment on the heating but the walk is very short).

The staff at the hotel are very pleasant and informal. We were personally shown to our roms and helped with our luggage - other hotels take note.

As for the eating experience I'd say it was mixed.
Apart from a poor experience on 1 of our 3 nights here due to a larger party taking precedence over us and other guests (which after complaining the managed addressed to our satisfaction) the food was very nice but the quantities could be more substantial. The food was well presented and cooked very well. The options on the menu were good and some options were changed everyday (about 2 of them for each course). But on a couple of nights I came away feeling I was still hungry. Or maybe I just eat too much??

As a beer lover I was disappointed they don't have any draught beer (there is no bar as such) but credit to the hotel that at least they do stock a number of good local ales in bottles.
Their wine list is quite comprehensive as well, and the prices are very good (c£22 for a very good bottle of wine).

Their breakfasts are very good as well, and there's no complaints this time regarding the quantities - the cooked breakfast is excellent, helped by the quality of the bacon they use. And they even tell you in the menu where they get their produce from.

So all in all a very good hotel which compares favourably with hotels in the same class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My partner and I were on holiday near Bamburgh last week and went to the Waren House for dinner one evening.We had a lovely meal,five courses each beautifully presented, full of flavour and with an emphasis on quality rather than quantity.Service was friendly and prompt and for £36 per head including canapes,coffee and petit fours we thought the meal was very good value.The house wines,however,were rather ordinary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waren House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waren House Hotel

Address: Bamburgh NE70 7EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waren House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waren House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waren House Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waren House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.