We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location not quite matched by the experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brewers Fayre Woodhorn Grange

Brewers Fayre Woodhorn Grange
Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
01670 862332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 37 Restaurants in Ashington
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely location not quite matched by the experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Reserved a table here in advance whilst staying at the adjoining PI, and lucky we did as was very busy when we ate here for evening meal and also for breakfast the following morning.

The welcome could have been improved by better eye contact on both visits on arrival at the check in desk, but staff were pleasant and generally helpful but not always efficient and required further training in some aspects of their duties such as imputing orders and providing receipts, and being generally more attentive and customer focused..

Like another reviewer found that the tables were sticky, and found it most disconcerting that although there was an indoor and outdoor play area two children were playing soft ball inside the restaurant outside the service doors which was a health and safety issue with an accident waiting to happen. Staff and parents please note.

Dinner was OK, and breakfast of the usual very good PI cooked to order standard

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    42
    44
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wouldnt recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I took my grandson for the carvery. There was hardly anything in bowls left to put on our plates although no one was there to replenish empty bowls the food was cold and tasteless - we didnt have time to wait so we got what was left being a spoonful of mash for my grandson and 3 roasties for me a small dollop of swede and some tasteless cabbage - it is full but these people have low standards when it comes to food

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location by a lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Lovely location by a lake with outdoor areas for kids to play safely and plenty of chairs and benches. Very popular with locals. Food fairly basic, but we were staying at the premier inn next to it so convenient for the kids and especially in the summer when you can eat outside. A 2 for £10 early bird, and buffet most nights were clearly popular with locals, so heaving on a Friday night.
If you want a quieter meal, head there later when the rush for the early bird has calmed down.
Great ribs, great staff and great views with wildlife literally on your doorstep.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Poor service, poor food, dirty, sticky and full of screaming kids running riot. Only gave one extra point in the food section for the lemon meringue pie, will not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very slow service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in the Premier Inn Next door for two nights and had our breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each day.
Dinner: waited and hour for first course to come on second evening, not much better the first. On the second evening our dessert was forgotten and waited another 30 minutes for it. Why so slow when the place was not even busy. 06/07/14
Breakfast: 05/07. Restaurant had been busy but we arrived at 10.30 and was getting quieter. Glasses, juice and croissants had run out and had to be asked to be replaced. The breakfast buffet was not in operation as advertised each day we had breakfast. The staff were friendly but just not enough staff employed. Other Brewers Fayres get it right but this one is off the mark.Shame as it is in a lovely setting. Come on manager, sort things out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Woodhorn Grange also viewed

Ashington, Northumberland
Ashington, Northumberland
 
Ashington, Northumberland
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Woodhorn Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewers Fayre Woodhorn Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.