We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than last time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Ashington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Ashington to your Saves list
Premier Inn Ashington
Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“much better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Premier Inn fantastic as usual. pub next door improved some, we had no complantes about the food or sevice this time but many were complaining about the pie that was on offer that night.I saw at least 5 people having a go about how bad the pie was.Personaly i had the steak and it was cooked to perfection as well were the trimmings, AS i said NO PROBLEMS WITH THE ROOM OR SERVICE WITH PREMIER INN just the pub next door still lets every thing down and there is nowhere else to eat neer to hand

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the Brewers Fayre. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    98
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
126
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dee1402
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I booked a night at this Premierinn on our way to Newcastle. It looked lovely, sitting on the edge of a lake and we were very disappointed, when we arrived and were told thatwe couldn't have a lake-view room as the hotel was fully booked.

The restaurant was more than adequate and as it was a Sunday, it was the Sunday buffet which was really nice and after our meal, we walked round the lake - very pleasant.

The trouble started when we were watching TV and kept hearing a very loud 'plant' noise. We didn't think much of it until we went to bed and the noise was still intermittent. Eventually, about 11:15pm my husband called reception, on his mobile phone, to report the noise. The man on reception advised that the noise should stop about midnight but did ask if we wanted to move to another room. My husband then lost his mobile signal and got cut off. A few minutes later, the chap from reception appeared at our door to ask if we'd like to move but we didn't want to have to get out of bed and move all of our stuff.

We queried how we could be moved to another room as we had been told, at check in, that the hotel was fully booked. The chap told us that there were 20 rooms free in the hotel!!

I had very little sleep and my husband had none at all - what a great start to our holiday! The Premierinn certainly refunded our money without any quibble at all but the question begs to be asked that if they know that this is a noisy room (which they clearly did) then why put anyone in it, especially if you have 20 rooms lying empty.

We always book Premierinn if there is one where we are going, as we know they will always e clean but I'm afraid we'll be looking elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size for 4. When we arrived the window had been left open and there was a smell of cooking from the kitchen, but closing it and turning on the air conditioning while we went to eat sorted this. Evening food in the Brewers Fayre restaurant was ok but unmemorable; Breakfast good and filling; service was helpful and quick. Useful to have the play area for the younger child in between courses. Large car park was almost full on the Thursday evening but most were diners. Convenient location for locals to eat and not too far off the A1 for an overnight stop. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times whilst visiting family in Morpeth. Hotel is in an excellent location, overlooking a lake. There is a path around the lake which is great for a nice walk (takes about 30 mins to get right around). There is also a little train that runs from the lake to the nearby mining museum).

Rooms are spotless, and staff have always been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the kind compliment regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Clean hotel with Friendly staff. Nothing was ever too much.
The breakfast was great too and cooked to order so lovely and fresh with lots choose from. Would recommend to anyone. Child friendly with the soft play area so two very happy children :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated and my team will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Premier Inns are always a good bet, but this is a corker. Great location, with very friendly and helpful staff. Me and my partner stayed on a hectic weekend, and this made an excellent, relaxing, and comfortable base camp for all.our activities

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First went here When it was Woodhorn Grange with a Charlie Chalks! We lived in Ashington at the time and occasionally had Sunday dinner. Came to Ashington for a surprise party so was the first time we had stayed. First off the Hotel is in a Beautiful park with a lake, we had a room that looked out over the lake and it was very good. The welcome was very good, warm smile and very quick the room was warm clean with everything you need. The restaurant is good but if you want to eat on a Sunday book as it gets very busy!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Lake, It's Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Ashington, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Ashington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington

Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Northumberland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Ashington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.