We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden

The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden
Denwick Lane, Alnwick NE66 1YU, England
+44 1665 511852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Treehouse is one of the most magical and unique restaurants to be found anywhere in the world. It’s high up in the treetops, with a roaring log fire in the centre of the room and trees growing through the floor. Most importantly, the locally-inspired food is delicious. Always featuring local fish and seafood, meats from Northumberland’s farmlands and other regional specialities, the Treehouse Restaurant menus highlight local quality, taste and change throughout the seasons. There’s a great wine list, a good range of beers and regular live music. For a family dining experience that you’ll all enjoy, a great night out with friends or a romantic dinner for two, there’s nowhere quite like it. We always recommend booking ahead for lunch or dinner.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

On our last visit to Alnwick Gardens we were not able to eat at the Tree House as they were fully booked. It looked such a wonderful place that my husband and I travelled two hours from Scotland to have lunch for my husbands birthday. It was certainly worth the travelling as we had a wonderful meal with absolutely delightful service from all the staff who were most attentive, helpful and lovely to chat with. We would like to particularly commend Chloe who has only worked there for three months but was a credit to herself and the restaurant. We are already deciding when to visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    189
    82
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The treehouse is a fantastic addition to Alnwick, it is an amazing structure. The restaurant inside is atmospheric and the rope bridges are another place to explore.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We first went to The Treehouse the year that it opened, many moons ago. It was wonderful and left a lasting positive impression, so much so that over the years we've recommended it to others visiting the area; we couldn't wait to go again.
The setting was just as lovely as we remembered and the staff were very nice. However after quite pleasant, but not exceptional, starters, my main course was absolutely terrible, completely inedible, badly cooked mullet with a disgusting broth. A member of staff replaced it with another fish dish but it wasn't really what I wanted (heavily battered, greasy cod with undercooked chips that even the 6 year old wouldn't touch). Moving onto puddings, again mine was horrible - a tasteless strawberry crumble which I would been embarrassed to have served to guests, alongside a watery sorbet devoid of any flavour. The children both left part of their dessert, which is unheard of! My husband did enjoy the cheeseboard and thankfully shared it with the rest of us.
An enormous disappointment for a pretty expensive lunchtime meal.
In all, I was gutted, what a let down. We slunk off back to the castle and gardens for the remainder of the day, thoroughly disenchanted with the Treehouse.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue to get Married !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I hired the Treehouse earlier this year for myself and Jackie to get married . Around 40 guests were in attendance .Right from the initial enquiry through to the Wedding Breakfast , I have to say the help , advice and support was fantastic , both from Wendy , David and their staff.

We started in the Potting Shed Bar for pre - wedding drinks , had the ceremony in the Treehouse itself , followed by our meal , speeches , etc.

We had a fantastic day , as did all of our guests . The menu choice was very good and the actual service and quality of the food and wine was fantastic.

Well done to everyone at the Treehouse involved - fantastic quirky venue , stunning place to get married ! Next tie I get wed it will certainly be at The Treehouse !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MAGICAL, WHIMSICAL, CHILDLIKE WONDER FOR GROWN UPS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We dined at the Treehouse Restaurant on the last night of our holiday in beautiful Northumbria. We wanted something a bit different as it had been my fortieth birthday prior to the holiday and the idea of incorporating a special and different meal into our holiday itinerary was appealing, as indeed was the suggestion of this unique and ultra-quirky eating establishment, situated within the castle gardens at Alnwick. And really, what a fabulous way to round a terrific holiday.

The exterior of the restaurant is like something from a child’s fairy tale and the walk into the restaurant and its interior only perpetuated this feeling of awe and uniqueness and we both instantly knew that we would enjoy our evening here.

After negotiating bridges bedecked in fairy lights and onto the main decking area we encountered The Potting Shed, where one could enjoy a pre-dinner drink. However, our table was ready and an incredibly polite, professional (yet not overly solicitous) waitress showed us where to go and when we entered the actual dining room we were both amazed at how pretty it was; all twinkling lights and wooden thrones and twisted trees. It is unlike anywhere we have been before and we loved it instantly.

The staff were ALL highly professional without being staid and insipid. We dealt with a few staff members, but our main waitress, Ashleigh, was delightful. Whoever has trained the staff here should be extremely proud as they have an excellent team from what we saw that night, who have achieved just the right balance between being uber professional, yet friendly and approachable. How we were treated (exceedingly beautifully actually) plays a large part in the overall experience of the evening.

It’s worth adding that we had read both good and bad reviews of the Treehouse, even very recent ones on Tripadviser and even considered not going. All we can say is it would have been a BIG regret and mistake not to go. It seems that any of the negativity on trip advisor, if valid had taken on board and put right as we had an amazing time. As already stated we found the service, food and location an excellent experience.

Food wise; if you’re are expecting large piled plate of beefeater proportions for your money then you are in the wrong place. This is all about the quality of food, yet still with good portions with the added impeccable service and location experience.

Once at our table our drinks order was taken, wine to come out with the meal which was very good, and for our first drink we chose the pineapple and apple mojito’s, which were delicious.

We opted for the three courses; between us enjoying the Shredded Confit of Duck, Treehouse Terrine (Pork & Pistachio), Corn fed Chicken Breast, Honey Glazed Pork Chop, Strawberry Trio and Selection of Northumbrian Cheeses. All the courses were presented beautifully, they were individually ample as part of a three course dinner and tasted fantastic. If you wanted to save, or maybe couldn’t manage as sweet on your own, then you could share the cheese board between two if you wished.

All in all we cannot fault our experience with the Treehouse. It was truly a magical occasion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.