We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden

The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden
Denwick Lane, Alnwick NE66 1YU, England
+44 1665 511852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Treehouse is one of the most magical and unique restaurants to be found anywhere in the world. It’s high up in the treetops, with a roaring log fire in the centre of the room and trees growing through the floor. Most importantly, the locally-inspired food is delicious. Always featuring local fish and seafood, meats from Northumberland’s farmlands and other regional specialities, the Treehouse Restaurant menus highlight local quality, taste and change throughout the seasons. There’s a great wine list, a good range of beers and regular live music. For a family dining experience that you’ll all enjoy, a great night out with friends or a romantic dinner for two, there’s nowhere quite like it. We always recommend booking ahead for lunch or dinner.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstandingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked a table here for a special night with my girlfriend and was not let down at all, i rang to book and also mentioned that i am gluten free and was told this would be no problem at all.
We arrived early and had some lovely cocktails outside in the Potting Shed, they also took the food order while we waited, i was provided with a seperate gluten free menu which had a substantial selection of meals.
The restaurant itself is really nice, very quaint, a fantastic place to eat a meal, really romantic.
I opted for the chicken & anchovy salad followed by Guinea fowl both from the gluten free menu, my girlfriend went with the mushroom terrine followed by the fillet steak, my food was absolutely lovely and my girlfriend said it was once of the finest meals shes eaten in a long time.
The service was very good without being over fussy and the staff are very attentive, we where certainly not rushed at all, the deserts where ordered a while after the mains had been taken away and these where both very good.
The bill was quite expensive but for the level of service, surroundings and most importantly the quality of the food, i think it was worth every penny.
Overall a fantastic night and i wouldnt hessitate to return again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    189
    82
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went for a birthday meal, great location, in a tree! Yes how unusual is that! Decorated beautifully with lots of little lights and chairs made from reclaimed wood. All basic stuff but very atmospheric.

Service excellent, friendly but not over familiar, food was British, nothing fantastically unusual but well cooked, well presented and the right amount.

Now my daughter wants her wedding there! What better praise.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Top Marks for Tree Tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a wonderful experience when we and two friends enjoyed a wonderful meal in the Alnwick Garden Tree Top Restaurant.
the Lamb was succulent, a wonderful Sea Bass and i great Fillet Steak, served with a lovely smile by the very pleasant young waitress.
she made sure we enjoyed ourselves, even offering to take photos for us.
we thought at firt the food was a bit expensive but! all was perfecty cooked to our requirements and it tasted really nice. four excellent deserts followed before... LIke Four elderly school children, we decided to have a go on the rope bridges.
what a fantastic experience and one i for one cannot wait to replecate.
wel down all at The Tree Tops, keep up the good standard...many thanks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food in a a very different setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very good, well presented food in a setting that sometimes makes you think you are in Lord of the Rings (see other reviews for description)

Service is efficient and pleasant and the wine list very good value

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briighton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Childhood Dream Manifest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This has to be one of the loveliest tree houses in the UK and a restaurant to boot. Very cleverly constructed so that most tables have a feeling of privacy so it would readily suit a romantic interlude. The menu isn't huge but the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The entrance is ramped so that access for wheel chairs has been provided. This is a highly recommended must see but do book if you wish to be sure of a table!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.