We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden

The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden
Denwick Lane, Alnwick NE66 1YU, England
+44 1665 511852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Treehouse is one of the most magical and unique restaurants to be found anywhere in the world. It’s high up in the treetops, with a roaring log fire in the centre of the room and trees growing through the floor. Most importantly, the locally-inspired food is delicious. Always featuring local fish and seafood, meats from Northumberland’s farmlands and other regional specialities, the Treehouse Restaurant menus highlight local quality, taste and change throughout the seasons. There’s a great wine list, a good range of beers and regular live music. For a family dining experience that you’ll all enjoy, a great night out with friends or a romantic dinner for two, there’s nowhere quite like it. We always recommend booking ahead for lunch or dinner.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a wonderful meal out on Saturday in this intriguing restaurant. The service was faultless and the food wonderful. We were told in advance that it was a 3 course set meal and were given the vegetarian/fish menu with plenty of choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review on your dining experience with us. Your kind words have been passed onto the team.

It pleases me greatly to hear you had a wonderful evening!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    215
    92
    49
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Helpful waitresses, child friendly and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When we arrived at the Tree House with our 3 year old grand-son we were warned there would be a 30 minute wait before we could order. However, we were able to order drinks and bread and oil to nible on while we waited. I doubt if it was 30 minutes before we were able to order, and the food for our grandson was brought very quickly - important for family peace. We shared starters, which were varied, and the meat platter was well worth the £2.50 premium (huge portion, ideal for sharing).
The waitresses were attentive and helpful, and worked out or bill in the most advantageous way for us (given our mix & match approach to sharing dishes), which we thought very generous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Treehouse Restaurant. It is wonderful to hear you were well looked after by my team.

The Meat Board is a keen favourite amongst the staff at the Treehouse, good choice!

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quirky and brilliant all at the same time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

If you like your food full on fine dining and your environ way out wacky, this is your ideal venue. It's Jamie Oliver meets Swiss Family Robinson and it really does work!

Prices are excellent and the food beautifully executed and brilliantly presented. Fresh water crayfish as a starter followed by venison (with haggis) followed by Coconut Pannacotta all washed down with a great selection of wines and cocktails, 'cooking doesn't get better than this' or words to that effect.

The service was helpful, friendly and enthusiastic. It's always nice to be looked after by people that really seem to enjoy doing what they do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience with us at the Treehouse Restaurant. Your kind words have been passed onto the team.

It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your meal. I am extremely lucky to have a team who are so passionate about what they do, and this really does reflect in the service and food our customers receive.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Superb food and well trained staff though a little noisy on the evening of our meal due to a young family with a very small baby that screamed a while, we were able to move to a table a little further away. We do realise that as a tourist attraction families are welcome but perhaps this could be reflected in the price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. Your kind words have been passed onto the team.

The Duchess of Northumberland's vision is for the garden's and Treehouse to be enjoyed by all and we are proud to say we are a family friendly restaurant, but I am pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your request to be moved and were able to make you more comfortable.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“sunday luncheon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

whilst on holiday we visited the gardens and the treehouse restaurant set in a superb setting had the sunday roast service and food very good wish it was closer to home

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRSNorthumberland, Manager at The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Treehouse Restaurant.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

David Scott
Treehouse Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Treehouse Restaurant at the Alnwick Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.