We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo's

Carlo's
7-9 Market Street, Alnwick NE66 1SS, England
+44 1665 602787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $2 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Sat in the restaurant upstairs on Tuesday night and ordered 3 Carlos Specials, which was fish and chips with mushy peas, tea, bread and butter at a very reasonable £7.95 each and it was absolutely delicious. I had the haddock and my husband and friend both had the cod. It was so fresh and the batter on the fish was light and crisp, not greasy. Best fish and chips I've tasted and the portions were huge.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    32
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Make sure you try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Felt very welcome, staff very attentive and pointed out special offers to us. Spotless eating area and the food was lovely - a while since we had fish and chips as nice as these.
Price was very reasonable too.
Pay them a visit, lovely food in a relaxed and clean place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fish 'n' Chip heaven!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was cold and raining in Alnwick, so we decided to see what Carlo's fish and chips were like. We sat in the upstairs area away from all the cooking downstairs, clean contemporary decor, very good service even thought the place was busy, fish fresh and in incredible light tasty batter (not at all greasy), chips were nice thick proper chips, all in all an excellent meal. We have Carlo's marked for our next visit 'up North'. Well done guys, we enjoyed every morsel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fish and chips is a great classic and this places does it pretty well.
Good price, decent choice, the only shame for me was they leave the skin on the fish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Holiday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Checked this one out on TA before hand, service was great, food was spot on - you can't beat good fish and chips - and these were very good indeed!
Would definietly recommend - possibly the best fish and we had in Northumberland
Will be back next time on holiday!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's also viewed

 

Been to Carlo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.