We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barter Books

Barter Books
Alnwick Station, Alnwick NE66 2NP, England
+44 1665 604888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Shopping in Alnwick
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest secondhand bookshops in Britain and the home of the famous Keep Calm and Carry On poster. Barter Books has become one of the largest tourist attractions in the North East of Englnd.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I went to Alnwick for a night away with my husband first stopping at Barter Books as the name of the place suggests you take your old books hand them over to be valued then if they want them they give you a price,you set up an account and you get any money paid into it. to redeam your money you go and choose another book and they take this of your balance.
Barter Books is in side the old Railway station and is full from floor to ceiling with a wide range of books ,a small cafe and a warm welcome .
We stayed in the Beaconsfield bed and breakfast 5 mins away from Barter.Books which I would recommend to anybody for a nights stay,the owner was very friendly and the bed and breakfast was very private with only 2 rooms for clients.There are plenty of pubs with Real Ales the best on being the Tanners Arms we will defiantly going back

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    81
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Book shop heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Dragged my husband and teenage children here and two hours later had to drag them all out. There is something for everyone, " cool comics " for the teens, cookery books for my husband and I just loved browsing, coffee and comfy armchairs as well as helpful staff, great visit, first visit but won,t be last.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best book shop I have ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I love going to this book shop.loads of variety from very old to modern. Plus you can take your dog with you. Worth a visit if your in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well thought out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A book shop needs to be well organized and also be able to cater well for the visitor. Barter Books succeeds where many second hand sellers fail. The books are where they are listed to be! The valuable ones are in locked book cases. There is room to manoeuvre around the stacks. There are comfy chairs or less upholstered ones around tables. Then there are the model trains on rails above the stacks that make it sound if it is raining all the time. There is an excellent cafeteria with seating in the original waiting rooms, and a "period" suite of toilets. All rather nostalgic. However on a topic I know well there were fewer books than I expected, and I did just manage to escape without making a book purchase, and I never expected that would be the outcome of a visit to so famous a second-hand book shop. The "most wanted" books must all have been sold that morning!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone, kent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Well worth a look inside and a browse...the bookshop is based in the old train station am yet to google why its not longer a train station. Is rated as the biggest second hand bookshop and in this day of ebooks glad to see businesses like this still thriving. There is a tea shop inside and it has parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barter Books also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Barter Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barter Books, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.