We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard Alnwick B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tate House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tate House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Tate House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Bondgate Without | Northumberland, Alnwick NE66 1PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save 15% Alnwick Gardens
Ranked #21 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“High standard Alnwick B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Convenient location close to the town centre, castle and gardens. We stayed in Room 2 on the first floor, it was immaculate and the owner was clearly keen to keep it so. The accommodation was very comfortable and well-appointed though not spacious. The owner was friendly and helpful with suggestions for our second day - we took a bus to Craster, walked to Dunstanburgh Castle and then on along the coast to Newton. He provided several choices for breakast, and we enjoyed it both days. Very glad we'd chosen to stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    38
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
111
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well positioned close to the town, castle and gardens. Room was spacious, well maintained and spotlessly clean, bed was comfortable, free aftershaves/ perfumes in the bathroom was a nice touch. Stairs are a bit steep for anyone with mobility problems. Lovely big TV with excellent picture quality, DVDs are available to borrow from the dining room, free wi-fi works well, which is not always the case! Breakfast was superb, good quality ingredients freshly cooked, couldn't fault it. The owner is friendly and welcoming, suggested places to eat in the evening, we tried the Italian nearby which was excellent. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you want to be close to the action in Alnwick, I would thoroughly recommend this lovely clean and well appointed B&B which is close to the castle and gardens. I's also just a 5minute walk to the centre of this lovely small town where great restaurants abound. Breakfast is beautifully presented and offers all you'd expect. Free WiFi is always a nice touch. Thanks for a great stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location: Within an easy flat stroll of Alnwick town centre. We were not too badly disturbed by the noise from passing traffic / party goers and our room was on the front of the building.
Room: Stairs are a little steep. We were however at 1st floor level in Room 2 and not at the top of the house. The stairs have one handrail (two would have been great) Room itself was in immaculate condition - it felt freshly decorated. Bed comfortable & good quality. TV is in the bay window on a low table and barely visible from bed. The legs on the single easy chair seem to be wrongly angled. Lean too far forwards & you will tip out to the floor.
Cleanliness: Maintained to exacting standards. Welcome: Nothing about removing shoes but we did because we do it at home any way!
Breakfast: Leave plenty of room & time - it's huge!
Parking: Directly opposite at the back of The Plough Pub. Little bit isolated but it is overlooked now by McCarthy & Stone appartments and I guess the residents would keep a wary eye open on any wrong doings.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the best even though it overlooks the street. There's also an extra single bed for lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was on the small side but immaculately clean, bed comfy and breakfast delicious. Was a little concerned regarding the car parking arrangement i.e. park across the road at The Plough but there was no need to: the car was as we left it! My only adverse comment, for which the guest house has no control over, was we were kept awake until at nearly 3 o'clock in the morning by noisy revellers from either the Plough or leaving the town but this should detract from the very good accommodation and excellent location which is within walking distance of the gardens and castle and the town itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms are nicely kept and the design is nice, although a little tight for space. The shower room was dated but functional and very clean. A kettle with tea/coffee and biscuits was provided.

I was very happy with the house and the room but I did not feel particularly welcome. In other b&b accommodation I have found owners have always been friendly and helpful and although I did not think there was anything wrong with the service we received, I did not feel particularly welcome or at home in this place.

I would happily recommend the accommodation but don't go here if one of the reasons you stay in b&b accommodation is to enjoy talking to the owners.

Room Tip: The double at the back of the house is above the kitchen so it is noisy as soon as breakfast prepara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Comfortable, spacious , stylish and spotless accommodation, friendly and helpful owner, very convenient to local attractions and places to dine cheaply and well (any nationality you like). Not that you'll be going hungry after the Tate House Special breakfast!
No hesitation in highly recommending this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tate House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tate House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Bondgate Without | Northumberland, Alnwick NE66 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tate House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 Star Silver with Breakfast Award, situated within the centre of Alnwick and opposite the Alnwick Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tate House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tate House b&b
Tate House Hotel Alnwick
Tate House Bed And Breakfast Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tate House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.