We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Hotel

The Oaks Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Oaks Hotel to your Saves list
The Oaks Hotel
South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staff are very friendly and attentive. Lovely breakfasts - especially the black pudding; done to perfection, selection of fruit, yoghurts and cereal.
Room (32) was good enough and the L-shaped layout of the twin was nice as that gave two friends their own space. Slight downside is that it is over the kitchen which meant you could hear the conversations of staff. The extractor fans also kicked in quite early but we were up and about just after this time anyway.
Good location. Just in from the A1 (easy to find after a long drive) and only a 10 minute walk into town. ('Slightly' longer if you decide to peruse around Barter Books!)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
31
47
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stopped here for a friends christening, in a family room with my wife and 2 children,
The room was clean and well sized, with tea/coffee, largescreen tv and a tasty full cooked breakfast included.
Quite nice to have a proper bath, and enough hot water to fill it!

The only downside to the room was the noise from the room above (walking about) did travel through quite loudly

We had a prebooked table for a meal of about 20 (including 6 small children)
Lots of choice on the menu, slick service and well served, with no undue fuss, The meals were tasty and the staff were happy to bring an extra kids meal ordered halfway through

I would be happy to stop here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in room 29 as a result of attending a family wedding in Alnwick, the hotel/pub itself is clean and tidy and looks to have benefited from a recent spring clean/paint. The downside to this room is there is only two sets of power sockets, one behind the bedside cabinet and the other behind the TV/drawers. We had to pull drawers out to get to the plug to enable my partner to use her hair straighteners. Breakfast was excellent quality. All in all a good stay was had but in my opinion £90 a night is a little excessive, maybe £70 is nearer the mark. A plus point was the owner offered to take us into the town center rather than us walking, but to be honest it is only a pleasant ten minute walk on the flat anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

we went for a carvery on Sunday 9th March, we pre booked a table (i would advise it as it gets full) and turned up at Ipm and were shown straight to our table next to the carvery and a drinks order taken for my wife her mother and myself, all brought promptly, our starter order was taken then we waited 10 minutes not long we thought as they were busy two prawn salad and a soup came and went then we had our roast lunch. A choice of three meats and any amount of potatoes and vegetables all served by a chef who never stopped chatting to the customers and always had a quip or a joke with every body, the meat just fell apart and the veg was just as good along with a Yorkshire you needed ropes to get over it was so big we had two deserts and I had three pints the bill was £54 not bad for all that I thought
I have read some of the other revues and I can tell you we did not think the food, service or price was anything but first class well done

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

the hotel has improved under the new ownership. the room we had was large and well equipped with a super king bed 32 inch TV and plenty of tea/coffee etc. it was very spacious and had a full bathroom, the bath having just been re-enameled.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great place with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff are lovely and very friendly. We enjoyed two night's here the food is excellent and great value for money. The rooms we had were modern and a good size. We will certainly go back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The room was very large with plenty of space for my husband and I and our three children.
The room was a bit out of date and tired looking, but very clean. It was a little on the cold side, even with the radiator on full. There was a lot of noise from the room upstairs, you could hear every footstep and every time they used the bathroom. The beds were comfy and the rooms had a good size TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating.The breakfast was excellent.
It was only a short walk into Alnwick and very close to Barter Books.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hotel Alnwick
The Oaks Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.