We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Oaks Hotel to your Saves list
The Oaks Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oaks Hotel
South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We came here in search of food while staying in a nearby B&B. The menu was extensive and exciting, with many local attractions. The delivered food was just beautiful and the portions quite large. Experience was that good we returned next evening. On a Sunday it would be worth trying the carvery, especially the yorkshire pudding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
24
38
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel caught our eyes as we drove by, it looked like a nice small inn, so we turned around and registered for two nights. We were in Alnwick to see the castle and gardens, and the hotel turned out to be a good place to base. They have a large car park and that's always a plus. The location is just 1/2 mile from the center of town and the castle grounds, so walking from the hotel is an option. The hotel made a positive impression from the begining, and they gave us a large room with a king bed. It also had a large bathroom, and everything worked as it should. Our room was on the first floor, so there was just one flight of stairs to navigate. The room furnishings were in good, not great, condition, and the bed was fine. We also had dinner one night in the restaurant, and enjoyed the food and the ambience very much. And, we had personal service for breakfast and a full cooked meal. Overall I think the hotel was a great choice and can fully recommend it to tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We pulled off the A1 at Alnwick to go to the services but missed them. We turned around and saw this hotel. Tired we decided to stop and eat. They had their Sunday carvery on and boy did it look good. The taste and quantity did not disappoint, very moreish.

We enjoyed the meal so much and the staff that we decided not to go on to find a bed but to stop the night their.

The room was very spacious and well laid out, looked as if it had been recently redecorated. yes, it was on a main road and during the day could be noisy but during the night there was no noise. A very sound sleep.

Breakfast was as well cooked and tasty as the dinner had been.

All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in April. To be honest I couldn't really fault it. We got a good deal through Late Rooms so it was value for money. The room was large and had a seperate area with chairs and large screen tv. The staff were also very friendly and service was good in both bar and restaurant where we also had an evening meal. Only down point was the location on a busy road. It didnt really bother us though as the rooms were double glazed. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Brilliant place to bring family!! Lots of choice, great prices and lots of ales to choose from! I've dined here 3 times in the last week bringing 3 lots of family there and each time has been superb!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went here for a family meal after a day at the castle and gardens. We arrived after six on a Friday night and the staff kindly moved three tables together for us. The interior was very warm and welcoming and the staff eager to please. Most ordered the roast beef or pork while I had the scampi. It was all excellent, the roasts had very good portions with lots of vegetables and the chips with the scampi were thick and very tasty. The prices are good value for money. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
God' own County
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed a night in February. Big room, very comfortable & warm. Shower was disapointing, lots of towels. Great meal with friends (we used to live in Alnwick, we remember when the hotel was a garden centre). Breakfast was good with local kippers from Robson's in Craster.
Helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Address: South Road, Alnwick NE66 2PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Hotel Alnwick
The Oaks Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.