We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bonus if you are visiting Alnwick Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bailiffgate Museum

Bailiffgate Museum
14 Bailiffgate, Alnwick NE66 1LX , England
+44 1665 605847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Alnwick
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bailiffgate Museum and Gallery is an award-winning people’s Museum run by volunteers, where fascinating stories of the past are told about the town and district of Alnwick. Recently receiving a £300,000 update, the Museum is housed in what was previously a church close to Alnwick Castle. It has been recognised as one of the 25 best places in the country for early years children to visit. Great for families there is lots to enjoy for adults too, detailing the stunning county and characters of Northumberland. Bailiffgate is an independent Museum and depends on the modest admission charges that it charges for adults, plus any donations and grants we might receive. Children under 16 are admitted free with a voucher downloadable from the museum website.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“A bonus if you are visiting Alnwick Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had been advised in literature to visit this small museum whilst waiting for Alnwick Castle to open and were so glad we did. The lady who greeted us was friendly and helpful. We had parked for free nearby and it was a stone's throw from the main entrance to the castle.
This museum is set on three floors, basement, main and first but there is a lift if needed.
A lot is crammed into a small space with lots of interactive exhibits which is fun for both children and adults. The historical films you can watch in the main hall whilst helping yourself to a tea or coffee (donation only) are most informative and are a nice touch to relax with. These films are not too long but do give you useful information and a flavour of the area. There is also a toilet at the back of the main hall. We were told that the museum is to get a make-over and it would be interesting to make a repeat visit when this is complete. However, we enjoyed our visit as it was very much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley G, webmaster at Bailiffgate Museum, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

As you are interested in the progress of our upgrade, it may be useful to know that we send out a monthly colour e-mail detailing forthcoming exhibitions, work to be done etc. You can subscribe to this at the foot of the Bailiffgate Museum homepage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Family fun which won't break your bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This small museum housed in a former church just across from Alnwick Castle ticks a lot of boxes whether you are visiting alone, as a couple, or as a family. It has a particular appeal in the latter case since kids get in free.

Once inside you find a selective history of Alnwick and its hinterland, with plenty of interactive exhibits of particular interest to youngsters, covering the period from the middle ages to the modern day. These are housed on the ground floor, and upstairs there is an art and photo gallery. The basement focuses on the coal mining which played such a huge part in Northumberland life, including a mini imitation coal seam for kids to crawl through.

The place is small but the variety of exhibits is large and the value for money huge wth a minimal entrance fee ven for adults. Free parking right outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good place to visit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Museum is not very big, but still includes a lot of history and activities for family's and children of all ages! Their is a 'mining worker experience' on the ground floor, which is great for children as they can wear the pit workers hats and go through a small tunnel for a photograph which shows what it was like. Their Is also a good gift shop but no café although their is a help yourself machine for hot drinks, their is however a café very close by.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful Small Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A very enjoyable visit recently to this rather interesting museum. What a lovely warm welcome we received from the young man at the reception who also gave us a detailed overview of the museum and where to find particular exhibits that we were interested in seeing. Although small this museum is very well set out and there are activities for children as well. We will certainly be back with our family and friends.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went without children and enjoyed the visit but can see how it would appeal to little ones as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailiffgate Museum also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Bailiffgate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailiffgate Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.