We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEG Charter at Aln Valley Railway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aln Valley Railway

Aln Valley Railway
Lionheart Station | Lionheart Enterprise Park, Alnwick NE66 2EZ, England
03000303311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 11 Attractions in Alnwick
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Aln Valley Railway is re-opening the branch railway line which ran from Alnmouth on the Edinburgh to London main line up to Alnwick. This year Lionheart Station (use NE66 2HT for satnav) is open on advertised days, with entry to museum, engine shed and displays of rolling stock all free. Rides are available at modest fares for short trips on BUZZ and the Buffet Stop cafe is open for teas, coffees, traybakes and rolls. The Victoria sponge cakes are especially recommended. Combine a visit to the railway with visits to Alnwick's other attractions for a really good day out.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“PLEG Charter at Aln Valley Railway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great trip to Aln Valley Railway on Sunday for the PLEG charter www.pleg.org.uk. Staff were very very friendly and made all our members really welcome. Great breakfast rolls in the café. Very happy to help us enthusiasts get photos and find the identities of vehicles. A must visit for families and enthusiasts in the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A lovely project, great staff and nice to see some community spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We popped into the Aln Valley Railway project after a day out in Alnwick, it's free to visit and look around the sheds where they are restoring the trains and carriages. My mum stayed in the cafe whilst the rest of us looked around. There's a tiny museum and restored train to look at. If you want to ride on the little train it's £3 per person, it doesn't go far but it's good fun and the driver tells you about the project and their vision as you chug along.
Everyone was really friendly and helpful and eager to share their passion, you probably only need 30 minutes or so to visit (depending on your level of interest) but it's worth it to see a nice project and enthusiastic volunteers.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good, and going to get better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

There isn't a huge amount to see at the moment, but it is slowly growing, and will be great when it gets more funding. What they are trying to do is brilliant, and I just hope that they can continue. You can go on a short train ride, and there are other carrisges to see. Still building it up.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A project well worth supporting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can only echo the comments from the other reviews about the Aln Valley Railway. The friendliness of the volunteers on the railway is brilliant. It was a very wet day when we visited, but the team on duty pulled out all the stops to ensure our visit was still enjoyable. They were only too pleased to show us around and answer our questions about the project and the railway to Alnwick.

Their café is probably the best value of money we encountered on our holiday and whilst it is situated in a portable building it is clean and very well kept. The food is also good and as mentioned is excellent value for money.

I do not think that the cost of the short ride on the Wickhams trolley is overpriced when compared to other similar railways, as indicated by another review. We should not forget that this is still a project in it's early years and they need to raise funds to help complete their plans.

I would recommend a visit by anyone who has even the smallest interest in railways as it is not everyday you get to ride on such an unusual train.

I wish the project well and look forward to returning to watch the progress made by such a friendly and enthusiastic bunch of people.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent ambition and enthusiasm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have visited a couple of times in recent years. As others have echoed, the enthusiasm being put into this novel project is great to see. Also the skills of those involved are an inspiration. An excellent demonstration (to adults or children) of proper, oily, nuts-and-bolts engineering - this coming from an engineer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aln Valley Railway also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Aln Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aln Valley Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.