We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review Mivesi Indian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mivesi

Mivesi
2 Market Place, Alnwick, England
+44 1665 606947
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We would like to offer you a warm welcome to our family business Mivesi: English Cafe and Indian Restaurant located in the centre of the beautiful Market Town of Alnwick.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Review Mivesi Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We really liked the Mivesi Indian Restaurant in Alnwick. 31 July 2014. Food was good, pleasant staff, good location. Good value for money. The only slight point to note was that service was a bit slow, but not out of order. Would we go back? Absolutely....and looking forward to it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    45
    12
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Small and friendly restaurant run by members of the owner's family - with very good food, sociable front of house who is also the waiter and comes in at a good value for money price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best India meals I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We visited this restaurant whilst on holiday in Northumbeland. We stayed in Alnwick for a week and had several good meals but this was the best. The menu was extensive and the meals we had were excellent. No alcohol is served but we took our own wine with us. The service was excellent and the staff were really friendly. A must for all fans of Indian food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dis-organised & slow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked the table 30mins before we wanted it. When we arrived the table was ready but it took 20 mins to get a menu and a further 35mins to be able to place our order. The excuse was they were doing the tables in rotation when they arrived. This was not the case for those who constantly complained as they were slid up the queue. The food was ok well presented but the service was terrible and very slow from when we arrived at 7:50 to recieving our main course at 9:30 was too long a wait,I will not be going back anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Looking for authentic? You won't find it here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On the menu it mentions the word 'traditional' a number of times when describing the food, but one thing the food is not is traditional.

We have lived in Asia for many years and we eat in many Indian restaurants in the UK that serve more authentic and traditional food.

When we were asked if we enjoyed our meal and we said that we were 'disappointed' to our waitress. The waiter came over and starting being very rude to us and started criticising us. I was shocked at his unprofessional and confrontational behaviour when all I said was I was hoping for more 'traditional' food as described on the menu. He did his best to argue with me and make me feel uncomfortable.

f you don't mind food that isn't traditional with a waiter that can be very rude, eat here. however, if you want more authentic food and a pleasant experience you might want to go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mivesi also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Mivesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mivesi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.