We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Swan Pub

The Black Swan Pub
26 Narrowgate, Alnwick NE66 1JG, England
01665 600835
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 90 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: An ancient and historic pub, where Robbie Burns once slept, offering a warm Northumbrian welcome and great local food - try our fabulously fresh fish and chips, or delicious beef sourced from a farm just down the road.Service with a smile and a relaxed and comfortable meal waits for you - there's been an inn on this site for around 600 years so why not call in and take a break - we serve food from 12 noon until 9 pm seven days a week.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

On a freezing cold night when you just want a cosy pub meal, you can't go past this venue. The service was really friendly and the steak and ale pie was superb. Great value as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello Graeme and thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner and found the pub a welcoming place on a winter night. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    48
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good food, generous portions and cheerful service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Black Swan for a late lunch\early dinner. The food was very good and obviously homemade. The vegetarian option was delicious. My husband opted for the steak and ale pie which he thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were friendly and the general atmosphere warm and welcoming.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at The Black Swan Pub, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hello Alndav and thank you for your review. We serve food all day for the convenience of our customers, and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal.
Please do call again.
Kind regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely local with a warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice place good food good beer and great service with a smile, steak and ale pie highly recommended. Good selection of real ales with a particular tasty alnwick amber ale.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for..?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We turned up here on our way back from Scotland to North Yorkshire at 4pm on Sunday-often a difficult time to get something to eat. We were made very welcome and assured that food was no problem. The beer (Alnwick Amber) was first class and the food every bit as good. The steak and ale pie is a classic of its type-wonderully rich gravy, succulent meat and lovely light pastry; the fish and chips is probably as good as I've ever eaten-light batter, beautiful flaky fish and fantastic chips. Both members of staff we met were welcoming , friendly, polite and very efficient. It's a pity we can't give 6 stars!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The biggest fish and chips Ive seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Called in here after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. Glad we did, a quiet night, but the food was brilliant. Fish and chips were great, steak burgers good, a really nice pub food event. and cheap too! definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan Pub also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Black Swan Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Swan Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.