We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgian Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Georgian Guest House to your Saves list
Georgian Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3-5 Hotspur Street, Alnwick NE66 1QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 70 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Stayed one night here in late March while we visited some of the attractions in Alnwick. The landlady couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms are small but warm, comfortable, clean and the bed linen was good quality. Our room was ensuite. There was plenty of storage including a mirrored wardrobe, four drawer chest and two drawer bedside cabinets. The choice at breakfast was good and the cooked breakfast was excellent. If you are looking for somewhere to stay whilst you visit Alnwick which is within easy walking distance of the castle and gardens we would recommend the Georgian Guest House.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    22
    15
    7
See reviews for
28
48
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Nice room, comfortable bed and a cracking, freshly cooked breakfast. No complaints at all. Oh, and the wifi worked well too. The Georgian Guest House is well placed in Alnwick and for the local countryside. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

and i have done so long enough now that i can text or email and generally secure a room with little notice.
The rooms are small, but very clean and tidy, it is a moments walk to the town centre and the breakfast is cracking.
Jo and her team do a great job of making people feel welcome, and i would recommend this B&B to everyone who wants a real Northumbrian welcome.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Stayed while attending a wedding in alnwick, and couldn't have been happier. The owner went out of her way to help with early check in requirements, the room was comfortable and well appointed with everything i needed, from en suite shower, to iron and thermal blankets.

I've read several bad things on here about room 5, as it's toilet is separate. However it's just across the hall and has its own key, meaning nobody else has access.

Next time i stay in alnwick I'll definitely be returning!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Like being home! Jo was very happy for me to arrive at any time and was easily contactable and even sent a text to confirm my arrival.

The room was warm and the best was comfy. Good sink area with lots of storage.

Breakfast was lovely - didn't take much persuading for me to goo for the fry up.

Would go again!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Cracking little B and B!!

Called and booked for a 11pm check in online and was amazed to discover this was accepted! Brilliant!

Owner not there when we arrived but appeared as if by magic to usher us to our room and invite us out for the remainder of the evening. wonderful welcome for an impromptu decision made last minute.. literally..

Small car made parking our motorcycle safe and secure, The rooms for the price were great tv shower toilet towels comfortable bed kettle with tea making facilities and in the morning a brilliant breakfast with orange juice tea coffee and as much toast as we could eat

so... I phoned up today and spoke to Jo who not only remembered us but promised to hold a room and let me ring her back for full booking out of hours..

Spot on we love this place!!

Room Tip: Let Jo know What you need and shes great at finding it for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Due to a rather abrupt trip from The Alnwick Garden to Newcastle RVI Eye Dept, we were unable to travel back from Alnwick to our self-catering cottage. The receptionist at the hospital rang around and found us the number for the Georgian Guest House, and luckily the lady I spoke to had a room. This turned out to be the family suite at the back of the hotel: large bedroom (double and single beds) which doubled as a lounge/dining area, with roomy shower and a big and well equipped kitchen All this for an amazing price, below £70! Given the circumstances I would have been happy with anywhere, as long as I could sleep. I obviously hadn't read the reviews on here but I can't fault our stay. The lady welcomed us from the taxi, settled us in and made sure we were ok. A good night's sleep, a nice shower and breakfast and all was fine. I cannot comment on other rooms but I have no complaints at all, given that we were an extremely last-minute booking! So thank you for ending a rather fraught day well.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Guest House

Address: 3-5 Hotspur Street, Alnwick NE66 1QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A 3 STAR GUESTHOUSE IN THE CENTRE OF ALNWICK TOWN, NORTHUMBERLAND WE ARE 2 MINS WALK FROM ALNWICK CASTLE AND ALNWICK GARDENS ACROSS THE ROAD TO THE SHOPS,PUBS AND LOTS OF EATING PLACES A SHORT DRIVE TO THE BEACH OR INTO THE HEART OF NORTHUMBERLAND WE HAVE FREE WIFI THROUGH THE HOUSE ALL ROOMS HAVE TEA AND COFFEE TRAYS TV HAIRDRIERS,IRON AND IRONING BOARDS, SHOWER GEL AND HANDWASH A FULL ENGLISH BREAKFST IS SERVED WITH A FULL VEGETARIAN OPTION IF REQUIRED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Georgian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Guest House Hotel Alnwick
Georgian Guest House Alnwick, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgian Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.